We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a tour, an overnight stay isn't necessary.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take a tour, an overnight stay isn't necessary.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm going to give the pros and cons:
Pros
~heated toilet with built in bidet/blow dryer
~romantic lighting
~beautiful grounds and scenery
~ staff is polite

Cons
~bed and billows were hard
~room had sketchy/scary shag carpet
~only one shower head {personally think there should be 2}
~the food at the restaurant was over priced/over cooked/under seasoned

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    381
    147
    61
    49
See reviews for
267
528
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
336 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I got married here at the Madonna Inn on November 24, 2012. Everything was absolutely perfect. We rented out the largest suite, the Pick and Shovel room for our bridesmaids and groomsmen. The downstairs of the suite has a very large couch, flat screen tv, and a bar. The master bedroom is also on the main floor. Upstairs there are two rooms, one with 3 twin beds and one with 2 double beds with a bathroom. It would have been nice if there was a centralized bathroom upstairs but those are minor details that really didn't matter in the long run. All of the beds were very comfortable also.

The weather was perfect that weekend and the grounds of the Madonna Inn were beautiful with the hills in the background and the horses running in the fields.

The staff of this iconic hotel were all very friendly and very helpful not only during our stay but also for our wedding. The round room and the garden room is where we had our reception and I could not ask for a better location. Everything was perfect and we plan on coming back to the Madonna Inn every year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you not only for your review but for the experience of hosting your wedding. The Madonna Inn truly is a "Family Tradition" and we look forward to seeing your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in the Old World Suite and what an experience! The room was unique, dark and very romantic. The waterfall shower is superb, furnishings comfortable and staff are very helpful. We loved our time spent at this iconic Hotel & will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for your recent stay in the Old World Suite. I'm pleased you enjoyed the room, the shower, and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Review of the famous Caveman Room!

Recently stayed at the Madonna Inn for one night in the Caveman Room.
This is our fifth visit to the Madonna Inn while traveling the coast.

Altho I am still a big fan of the place, some of the fun, funky coolness has worn off.
The place is expensive! The rooms are very funky and different but the price per night is excessive and now they have started a $15 a night 'resort fee' that they really don't tell you about unless you read the fine print when you are checking in.
It seems a little sneaky to me.

We finally got to stay in the Caveman Room which has been featured on TV and is the most popular room at the place.
The room is FUN and definitely worth checking out once in your lifetime!
All ROCK...... floor, walls and ceiling.
The rock shower and waterfall is awesome. The BEST water pressure anywhere ever!!!
It is literally like being under a powerful waterfall!
Same with the bathroom sink. The water travels down the rocks from up above.
It is very cool but makes brushing your teeth a little bit of a challenge!

In the corner of the bathroom there is also a waterfall urinal! That was a surprise.
Basically you just pee on the floor and the waterfall is turned on by a sensor when you step up to it.

The water from the shower goes everywhere since there is no shower door and there is a ton of water. Most of the bathroom floor and part of the bedroom floor was wet the entire time!................. it's an interesting experience.

The room was clean but not as spotless as the other rooms we have stayed in. I'm sure it has to do with all the rock and/or how many people actually request this room. I'm sure it isn't empty very often.

There is also a small waterfall fountain in the room that adds the sounds of trickling water!

The Madonna Inn is very hit and miss on the 'peacefulness'. The last two visits we have had bad luck and had very loud people in the rooms around us.
It was very noisy this time with kids running all over screaming like crazy!

They recently added tennis/ basketball courts which is cool and you can borrow equipment from the front desk.

This place is definitely worth a stay at least one night to experience it.
My favorite room is the Old World Suite with the Caveman Room right behind it.
Definitely get a room with the waterfall shower!

Room Tip: My favorite room is the Old World Suite with the Caveman Room right behind it. Definitely get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We're happy you were able to add the famous Caveman to your list of visited rooms! I'm sorry to hear however that you had some noisy children in the area and didn't feel that things were as peaceful as they have been. I certainly hope you'll continue to stay with us again in the future; your patronage these past five stays has been appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
239 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Madonna Inn 6 or 7 times in the last five years, we usually book at least one weekend a year for our Birthday, Anniversary, or a Special Occasion. They are under going updates to most of the rooms, many of them still have / had the decor from the 60's / 70's. You will be much happier if you book on of the renovated rooms, unless you are seeking a special decor that you want. We stay in a different room each time we go and enjoy, they have a spa and pool area now, which is very nice, and the steak house is great ! If you do not mind moving rooms, best to book two different rooms if staying for two nights and enjoy a change of scenery to enhance the stay with a different room each night.

Room Tip: Believe most of the lower level buildings have been renovated at this point, if you want to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we greatly appreciate you and your family continuing to come back for special occasions. Not many people know that you can experience a different room every night so I'm happy to hear you have taken advantage of that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I'm amused by some of the reviews about this place. If you have done your research then you should know what to expect - and it is not a Hyatt, Intercontinental etc and does not purport to be.

We had the Fabulous Fifties room - in the low front building opposite the horses. It was glorious in its pinkness with brown minky bed spreads with leopard print on the otherside! Loved it!!

Generous bathroom - not so sure about the coffee maker on the bench in there! The bath tub was deep which made it a bit interesting climbing out of the shower!

Usual shortage of power points in the room.

Brief encounter with staff was without incident.

Dinned at the Steakhouse - good service, massive serves and quite expensive. Maybe it is just what we are used to here but easily could cut the portions (and thus prices) by 1/3rd. I don't like leaving so much food on my plate but it is inevitable.

Managed to get a view of the men's bathroom which was a good laugh. Womens one is also fabulous!

Pool area looked good and decent sized modern gym from what we saw.

Really recommend a stay here as it is so unique!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had Thanksgiving Dinner here last week after hearing that it was a great place to go. We arrived ahead of time and were told we'd be called in 20mins. They seated us in 5 mins! Our server was very attentive and friendly. Unfortunately the food was boring and not worth the price. The main meal was a plate of turkey (or ham or duck) a smallish serving of mashed potato, peas and stuffing. We got a tiny serving of cranberry sauce in small tub on the side. We asked for candied yams - as they were supposed to come with the meal. When they did it was obvious they were out of a can, I took one bite and left the rest.
I think I would have got the same meal at my kid's school if they served one. Dessert was also extra. It was also my birthday but the host told my wife that they do anything for that. Fortunately our server changed that and surprised me with a huge piece of cake and a candle. After spending more than a few hundred dollars for a boring meal this was a nice surprise.
I wouldn't consider eating here again. Plenty of great options 5 mins away in Sam Luis Obispo.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for writing a review in regards to our annual Thanksgiving dinner. I’m pleased to hear you were seated so quickly and that the server helped celebrate your birthday with a piece of our cake, although I’m sorry that you were disappointed with the holiday meal that was served. Perhaps you can come back another time to try one of our traditional steakhouse menu options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#8 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.