We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilarious, one-of-a-kind place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Save Saved
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hilarious, one-of-a-kind place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the William Tell room with a rock waterfall shower. It was great, very tacky, but in a good way. The shower was very fun and something that is very unique. I am surprised that there are bad reviews of this place based on cheesiness or tackiness- it's the Madonna Inn- that's the point, you should know what you are getting yourself into! Definitely something to do at least once.

The pool is heated, so although we were there in October, we still went swimming at night (the pool is open until 11pm), which was really fun. They also have two jacuzzis which are nice and open late as well.

The steakhouse was delicious. Somewhat pricey, but the ambiance is fun, and the wine bottles are reasonably priced- which somewhat makes up for the pricey food. The Copper Cafe for breakfast was just OK.

If you are noise sensitive I would recommend calling and asking for a quiet room, as this hotel is off of the freeway, and we could hear the cars from our room (as well as the ice machine, which was right outside the room). We are not noise sensitive so it did not bother us, but it's something to think about if you are.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    259
    101
    47
    37
See reviews for
164
375
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Overpriced, tacky rooms like bad Branson.
People in front of us at check in trying to change their room. Other guests at pool complaining facility is too tacky. Lots of rules and extra fees. We stayed because it was recommended by 1000 places to stay but they missed the boat on this one!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

You've seen the website...it's hilarious. We stayed in the Espana room (complete with electronic Bidet on the toilet). Staff were very friendly. We checked in very late and they were very accomodating and professional. Two double beds meant beds in separate sections of the room (separated by walls). Was a VERY large hotel room. Decor was very kitsch!

Room Tip: You can request your room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the most fun hotel I have ever stayed in!

Over the top wild rooms that include rock waterfall showers and green shag carpet.

This is NOT the Marriott. You must be ready for tongue-in-cheek fashion.

Every room is worth staying in! Clean, comfortable and full of sass.

Perfect for a married couple get away without the kids!

Oh, and SLO was a great town to visit too!

Room Tip: We had the Gypsy Rock room. Great, but they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've stayed here before but dont remember the prices being so steep. And $15 RESORT fee - for what?

Upmarket prices for unique room decor, all kitsch
Reception gave us poor directions to room, so after struggling up and down flights of stairs with heavy bags after a long drive a bellboy finally told us we had to use another stairwell...but they did send up a complimentary bottle of bubbly as an apology - unfortunately they put the wrong name on it!
Meal was very reasonably priced as we decided to split a prime rib dinner between 2.
Pool warm and hot spa
Quiet, huge room. Hard towels. All conveniences but poor power point access
Great linen comfy bed

Travelled as a (mature age Australian) couple for all of August 2012 throughout California, Nevada, Utah, Arizona and into Colorado by car. Generally did not book ahead, prefer to have freedom to linger as we please, and to actually see the room before we commit. Have travelled this way many times before in USA and Europe. Stayed at a variety of hotels and B+Bs from 1 to 4 star. In busy areas (San Francisco) we booked in advance from Tripadviser reviews.

Room Tip: they are all different - look at the pics..but ask about ease of access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in SLO for a weekend conference and looked forward to staying at the Madonna Inn. I previously stayed their a few years ago.

On this trip I was disappointed from beginning to end.

At check-in the woman never looked at me, but, made sure I initialed their extensive list of Do Not Dos.

The Inn now charges a Resort Fee of $15 per night. For this, I was entitled to television reception that was fuzzy, a bottle of tap water, and wireless Internet in the Cafe. There was an Ethernet cable in the room, but it only works if your computer device has an Ethernet jack. You also receive access to a pool and an outdated workout area.

The towels were thinner than Best Western. The bed was one step above a roll-away.

Room 202, at the top of the hill, instead of being labeled a 'cute' name, should be labeled, "The room with the most freeway noise blasting through the windows.'

Speaking of no sound proofing, you hear the people in the room above you walking back and forth, plus, other sounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

When telling friends we were spending our vacation driving down the PCH from Napa to Pismo Beach almost everyone who had ever done that said "you have to stay at the Madonna Inn"....so we took their advice.
We stayed at 8 different hotels on our adventure and the Madonna Inn was by far my favorite.

We booked the Kona Rock room directly with the hotel because I wanted a rock bath and "cave" experience.

The room is really cool, with a large fireplace and rock covered walls you really feel like you're in a cave. The bathroom was my favorite...everything is made of rock including the sinks. The toilet is pretty darn cool as well....let's just say I have never used one quite like it before! I won't ruin the surprise. lol

We loved the pool/hot tubs...the setting was well planned and beautiful.

We had dinner at the steak house and although a bit pricey my filet mignon and my husband's prime rib was well prepared and very high quality. My only complaint was the baked potato was so laden with butter and sourcream that it was "soupy", and inedible. We showed the waitress and her response was that she would "let them know". lol Oh well, not worth getting worked up about.

We ate breakfast (egg white omelet) the next morning at the Copper cafe....excellent!

Ladies, when visiting the main building you really need to check out the men's bathroom in the basement. Have your significant other check to be sure that it's unoccupied and than have him "demonstrate" the rock wall urinal! That's all I'm telling you....it's worth the visit. :0)

I really can't think of anything else to say that hasn't already been said except I highly recommend you try the inn because it will be an experience like you've never had before!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for including the historic Madonna Inn in your California Pacific Highway adventure! It sounds as if you had the complete inn experience with the inclusion of our hotel, restaurants and our popular restrooms! I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had such a great time here. We appreciate the time you spent with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo
Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.