We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quite Unique"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
san pedro
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“"Quite Unique"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I would give Madonna Inn 3 and 1/2 stars for its' uniqueness. It was a lot of fun with the different themes of each room. We stayed at The Great American room which had a beautiful stone fireplace with a comfy chaste lounge. The only complaint were the kids next door. The night before they were loud and running around but finally settled down. But we woke up the next morning to the kids screaming and being loud. I called the front desk and they sent a housekeeper to walk around the vicinity, which she heard nothing. You couldn't hear them from the outside, but it definitely was amplified through the thin shared walls. I called a second time and this time they called the room. The family didn't even have their children registered so shame on them for hiding it and for allowing their children to get out of control. With that being said, it actually was a really cool one time life experience to stay at such an unique place.

Room Tip: The cave is supposed to be the most requested. Book at least 6 months in advance and make sure ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    259
    101
    47
    37
See reviews for
164
375
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is unique, to say the least, and clean. However, I can't say it was worth the money. The room was a bit run down, the location isn't great along a highway, and there isn't much to do nearby. The service also wasn't great. That being said, if you are looking for a place to stay in the area, this isn't a bad choice. Just make sure you know what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a nights stay here on our anniversary. We ate a delish breakfast and then had a couples massage at The Spa. We were treated like royalty and left the spa feeling very relaxed. We checked into our room with no problems and the room was great! Very decorated and fun! The thing we noticed first was the shower head.. The shower head was very high and did not tilt down at all. This isn't a huge deal as I am tall but for someone eles it would be a problem. We also didn't receive our complementary champagne until 3 hours after we checked in and they didn't leave glasses. We were awaken at 4am to the sound of shutting doors and footsteps above us. A little later we heard the vacuum and the cleaning service. It wasn't a huge deal but it was annoying. The headboard of the bed was completely broken and squeezed horribly every time we would move. The pool was amazingly warm and had an awesome layout. We enjoyed swimming under the stars late at night.I like this hotel, but they do need to keep up on a few things. We will be coming back :)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I went to Madonna Inn with my fiance and another couple we're friends with. We booked a month beforehand and a lot of the rooms were already taken, but one of our top rooms - the cowboy room - was still available. Upon checking in, we entered a HUGE room with two king size beds on separate sides of the room (perfect for couples) wall to wall red carpet, cowboy-inspired bed spreads, a horse statue in the middle of the room (which was the perfect subject for many posed pictures), and a huge bathroom with two huge sinks - one in the bathroom and one outside it.

We LOVED the room. But the fun atmosphere of Madonna Inn doesn't stop at the hotel. It also extends to the pool area, which has a large pool with an incredible view of the countryside and a large hot tub. Plus, fun is found inside the lobby and bar. The restaurant onsite is a pink wonderland - so gaudy it's luxurious looking. If you don't want a $50 steak, you can get the ambiance in the adjoining bar. And don't forget to check out the waterfall in the men's restroom downstairs (even if you're a lady - just have a guy scope it out before going inside).

Since going there, the other couple and my fiance and I keep talking about going back - but this time we want one of the rock rooms.

Room Tip: Book early to get the room theme you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear OneDayInACity,
Thank you kindly for the gracious comments about your recent stay. We’re so glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed a getaway in our Country Gentlemen Suite. We cordially invite you to return for one of our famous rock rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

If Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen was a Flintstone this would be his home!. stayed a couple of nights in the Safari room with the cave like waterfall shower ! whilst driving the vegas/LA/Sanfran triangle. probably one of the most memorable parts of the holiday too, San luis Obispo is a nice town too!

Room Tip: The Safari ! its big and its very green !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear eddieanian, We appreciate all of our guest’s comments and we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your past stay with us. Indeed, the Safari is very unique. Safari is a popular room, reserving at least 6 months in advanced. We couldn’t be happier that you were able to experience it. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

A really unique hotel where you can't find anywhere! With different themed rooms and a cute little restaurant it is the perfect stay in San Luis Obispo! Especially for a honeymoon! I would recommend this hotel if you are searching for a one of a kind experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My parents stayed here years ago and other than a stop at the coffee shop we'd never quite made it. This time we did stay over after a graduation in southern Cal.

The degree to which the kitsch and pink theme are carried out is remarkable--down to pink sugar in the coffee shop and pink his and hers bathrobes (hubby passed on this one) and gaudy water goblets. The common areas are also decorated extensively and the steakhouse which we passed by was also decked out. Could be a fun wedding reception. The inn is definitely an institution and the family photos and connections make it seem personal.

Our room was located in the building closest to the scrubby hills behind the property, at the top of a circular white picket/curlicued staircase (actually two) -- the room was unremarkable--decorated well enough (a blue and yellow "marguerite" theme) -- not especially large but well appointed -- but quite stuffy when we first came in; I imagine it rents later in the evening when it rents (we arrived late). Good shower, some sort of bidet attachment to the toilet which was a remarkably modern touch to an old-timey vibe property. In room coffee as well. We were not there long enough to try the spa/pool.

Although the property is right off Highway 101 we were not troubled by any highway noise inside the room (as others have noted, though, the walls were slightly thinner than they could be-- no "honeymoon" sound but we did hear neighbors arrive and depart and talk briefly.

The staff were as pleasant and cordial as has been reported elsewhere -- reception staff and even the very hard-working wait staff in the cafe.

The outside area is pleasant and well landscaped -- we did cross paths, nearly, with a baby Diamondback rattler snoozing between parked cars at the edge of a landscaped area (on the way up to the hillside buildings, not down by the main area), so I would at least keep my eyes open and maybe wear closed shoes/jeans if I went exploring.

Room Tip: We went through a travel site and just got a "king theme room"; you could certainly ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Annw,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay at Madonna Inn Resort and Spa. We agree that this is a very special resort and we are also honored by having such a professional and experienced staff. We strive to create a memorable experience for our guests and are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo
Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list