We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, love the new rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Garden Inn to your Saves list
Rose Garden Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, love the new rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel has been a great, easy access location to stay in, in the past. Daniel (manager) and staff have been extremely accommodating and so nice...making sure I had everything I needed, and always have such great recommendations for anything I've wanted to do in the area (site seeing, dinner spots, best wine tasting, etc). Location couldn't be better.. centrally located in the middle of everything (quick 10 minute drive to Pismo, Shell Beach, Avila Beach, Morro Bay, Cal Poly, etc). I stayed here last year with all these feelings about property, but forgot to write a great review of my experience..sorry :) Since my last stay, they've upgraded many of the rooms, and sounds like they are doing many upgrades to the rest of property by March 2014...absolutely LOVE all the new furniture in these rooms, amazing how nice they are! Can't wait for my next stay when I return to the area in another month. Thank you again for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    89
    53
    26
    32
See reviews for
94
79
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moab,lut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room was adequate and pretty clean. The front desk people were very nice and extremely helpful. It's not a particularly romantic or extravagant place, but the price is fair. Sliding glass doors open onto the parking lot, so we could just take our stuff in and out. Even though it seemed quite full, it was quiet until morning, when people started making too much noise too early.

The courtyard pool and hot tub was super nice....we would stay there again just for that....and it would be wonderful to be there when the roses are in bloom. It would be nice to have breakfast, but the coffee was ok and there is a great health food store nearby where we picked up food.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are probably quieter...wish we would have known to ask for one of those when we bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Normally, I would probably rate this hotel three stars but it is perfect for those with pets. So, I give it a four. Parking is awful, but the rooms are nice. Unless you are lucky enough to get there early you won't get a good parking place. We had to walk a long way from the car to our room and we were not offered any help with our luggage. Once we settled in we noticed that the pet relief area was right outside our room. Sliding glass doors led out to a patio that was kept clean and free of pet doo. If you are traveling with your pet stay here. You won't be sorry. And, the prices are the best in town.

Room Tip: If you have a pet stay on the ground floor next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a motel for sure but I took my daughter to San Luis Obispo for a weekend getaway to visit Hearst Castle, see the elephant seals and have some fun. With the $$ saved on a more expensive place to stay, we went shopping in Santa Barbara on the way up!! I wouldn't recommend it for a couples place but it served our purposes perfectly. It's nice that it has a fridge and microwave. I'd recommend the second floor. We were on the first and could hear every footstep above. Had to turn the fan on to drown out the neighbors and the cycling refrigerator.

Room Tip: Try the second floor. Might be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel I, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
The Staff and Management at the Rose Garden Inn was very happy to get your review. Thank you so much for the time you took in writing it. You told our future guests exactly what we want them to know about this family friendly, affordable stop in San Luis Obispo. We are also happy that you saved enough money to take in a little shopping. That is always an added bonus!
Thank you once again!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mena, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel was priced right, and located in a easy to access area. The staff were friendly, and the rooms were clean. No breakfast, but its okay. It was a quiet room and that's what we needed. If you stay here- Please go to Avila Beach. Its nearby- about 10 minutes and is breathtaking! Rock cliffs and gorgeous water- we went in the morning and saw seals playing in the waves. Unbelievable. Go, go, go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My 8-year-old daughter and I stayed for 2 nights at the Rose Garden. The staff was very helpful when we were expecting to have a DVD player. The room did not have one when we arrived, and they made sure to install one within the next couple of hours. In addition, we arrived early the first day and they allowed us to check-in early! The staff was also very informative about the city of San Luis Obispo. Thank you Rose Garden Inn! We will return again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I give it 4 stars. The hotel is clean, airport and freeway accessible and reasonable pricing. Customer service by front desk (Mary) very friendly. Hotel manager Daniel was also very friendly. Stay very pleasant as the rooms are very quiet.

Room Tip: Can not rate fitness center or kids activities as it did not apply to our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are newly remodeled, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.