We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Garden Inn to your Saves list
Rose Garden Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“The Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am so grateful for the Rose Garden Inn that I find it difficult to convey my true experience. My frequent visits to San Luis Obispo are extremely important to me and my family. Their convenient location, easy access to and from the hotel and most importantly the willingness and the ability of their management and staff to provide great customer service have been a blessing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Bobby,
Thank you so much for your review of the Rose Garden Inn. It sounds like you are in the area often and we are happy you chose us to accommodate you. Our staff works very hard to make our guests happy, and it is so nice to know you find us friendly and attentive to your needs. Please come see us again, soon.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    89
    53
    26
    32
See reviews for
94
79
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff were super friendly and nice. The room is big and clean. The bed is comfortable. There is fridge and microwave inside the room which is great because we could warm our baby's food. We love the hot tub. For the price we paid it is worth it. If we go back to SLO will stay in Garden Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! You described everything we work very hard to be here at the Rose Garden Inn. Clean, comfortable, affordable, peaceful, great for families, and finally, friendly. We sincerely do hope you come back and enjoy San Luis Obispo. Remember, now that the summer is over, we are even more affordable. Thanks again!!!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Very basic accommodations, but clean, comfortable and excellent value!! The location is right off the 101, and a short drive to downtown SLO. The front desk service was friendly and provided suggestions for things to do in the area - very helpful! Perfect for patrons that are looking for budget-friendly, no-frills place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that your found everything acceptable and your stay was a good one. We work hard to make our guests comfortable and we try to keep the rates down so they are affordable enough for repeat business. I am happy you found the hotel a good value for the money you paid. We hope you come again and enjoy the Central Coast.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent a night en route back to Los Angeles from San Francisco. For a night, this is a decent place to stay. There is nothing fancy about the place, but it is clean. We stayed in their "Premier" wing with refurbished rooms. Well, you'd never know it was refurbished. Yes, the carpet is new and the new mattresses are very comfortable. But, their version of a flat screen tv is a flat- screened CRT type tv ( but that's fine. It worked, and we weren't there to watch a lot of tv). Not sure I'd stay in a non-refurbished room, though.

The placement of the A/C unit is ridiculous. We had 2 double beds, and one of the beds is placed right next to the unit. In fact, it's actually touching the bed. So, unless you are menopausal with lots of heat, the person in that bed will freeze if you have the A/C on. Turn it off, though, and the room gets very humid and uncomfortable. Also, this was the second room we had because the A/C in the first did not work (same placement in the room), and it was sauna-like when we returned from dinner). Part of the sauna-like feeling is that the corridors have no A/C.

The bathroom has a lot to be desired. The shower is fine, but they need a new showerhead. It was very old. The faucet in the sink was rusty and had very low flow. The toilet seat was not secure, and the tank ran for a long time. We were worried it was going to overflow, but luckily it didn't. When you refurbish a room, one usually expects at least a little improvement in the bathroom as well.

Pros: comfortable bed, clean
Cons: bad A/C, old bathroom, dated decor, no stairs

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write a review of the Rose Garden Inn. We are glad the Inn was comfortable and clean. The hotel is a little older so it great for us to get reviews like yours to help us focus on the property through our guests eyes. The a/c units are positioned close to the beds in a few of our rooms. We don't get guests using the units much due to our very mild climate year round, so it helps us to know if they are not functioning properly. The unit you complained of has been repaired and is up and running. Thanks again for all of your help!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It will now be a destination when I pass through SLO and even stay a few days to explore the environs. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are fine. Staff is friendly and helpful. We went to Avila Beach nearby on the advice of staff, and it was delightful. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of this inn and its rose studded grounds. Eileen Adams, Berkeley CA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family of 4 plus 2 dogs needed an extended stay hotel during a relocation to the area. Rose Garden Inn was a perfect match. Everyone on staff was courteous, generous, and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside our room (lower-level patio area accessed via a sliding door) or at the pool in a beautiful garden setting. We also appreciated the included refrigerator and microwave and the extra sink outside the bathroom. During our stay, the central bathroom ventilation system was in process of being repaired/replaced so bathroom got a little steamy during showers. We researched several hotels in the area and settled on this one as having the overall best value. I recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again given the opportunity. Thanks to the Rose Garden Inn staff for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your hotel review of the Rose Garden Inn. We sincerely appreciate the kind words you said about the hotel and hope that other guests find your review useful, just as we have. We hope your extended stay just made you love the Central Coast even more and you will tell your friends to visit San Luis Obispo on their next vacation. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Ibarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here. The pool and gardens are beautiful. The rooms are older but very well kept, but it was the management (Daniel) that made our stay memorable. The pool and water feature is fantastic. Pet Friendly, too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are newly remodeled, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.