We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Garden Inn to your Saves list
Rose Garden Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
La Habra, California
1 review
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in San Luis 2 nights the frist was at the Motel 6 across the street, the second night we stayed at the Rose Garden. The difference was night and day for $20.00 more the staff at the Rose Garden was great and the room was very well equiped the bed was comfortable. We would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the middle of the building the entrance doors are loud when they close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are constantly trying to upgrade the property to make our guests more comfortable. We appreciate it when a guest lets us know we have succeeded! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    89
    53
    26
    32
See reviews for
94
79
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you're traveling on a budget but still would like a nice, clean place to stay in San Luis Obispo definitely consider the Rose Garden Inn. I was concerned when booking due to a couple recent poor reviews but we found the place to be clean and in good order. In fact, for the price I would be surprised if one can do much better in the surrounding area which is why I say "excellent value". Apparently, it has come under either new management or new ownership in the past 6 to 7 months and the front desk was frank with me in saying that before they took over the back building had been deteriorating. It is my impression, however, that previous deficiencies or deferred maintenance have been or are being rapidly addressed. There is a pride in the place that can be seen from the bright red roses and carefully tended drip irrigation flowers to the busy maids who are clearly doing their jobs to keep the rooms clean. Sometimes it's difficult on trip advisor to figure out if negative reviews are well founded or if someone simply has unrealistic expectations about what they should be getting for their bargain rate but I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to a friend who was looking for a clean, pleasant and inexpensive place to stay in SLO.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This motel is one of the most pleasant places my wife and I have stayed. It is definitely the Best Value we've found in our travels since I retired. The rooms are spacious, very clean and well furnished with comfortable beds.
The location is perfect to go north to Morro Bay, Cayucos and Cambria, or south to Avila Beach, Pismo or Arroyo Grande.
Last, but not least, is the large beautiful Pool area with tasteful landscaping and the " WOW " 25 person Spa with a spectacular multi-waterfall rock structure. Unbelievable!! You won't see something this nice in many high end properties. WHAT A FIND!! ( no I'm not a relative, friend, partner or any connection ) . We just stumbled on the Rose Garden Inn and now keep coming back time after time.

Joel C.

Room Tip: The 2 Queen bed rooms are larger overall than the King, and closer to the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Joel,
Thank you for the WOW!! We sincerely appreciate the time you took to review us, and hope that others find your review helpful. We are happy you took advantage of our new and beautiful spa with waterfalls. It sure adds serenity to a great vacation day. We are also happy that you took time to visit our surrounding areas. The Central Coast is such a wonderful place to visit. We hope you come back soon.
Thanks again,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel from 7/15/13-7/18/13. Landscaping was appealing with all the pretty roses. Hot tub and pool looked very nice. Room was decent especially for the great prices they have. Appreciated the organic toiletries they provided daily. Would stay there again! Only thing they could fix is by starting to provide a continental breakfast that'd make it even better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed 07/12/13. The entire hotel stunk. Old musty smell in the halls and stairwell. Loose railings in the stairwell. Our room stunk so bad we sprayed it with Lysol, burnt a candle all night and left the balcony door open. Mold and rust everywhere. Wallpaper peeling so bad you could see the layers underneath. Outlets were so old my phone charger kept falling out! Never have I been in a hotel this bad. Made Motel 6 look like a 5 star resort. Waste of time and money.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Travelgirl206, We sincerely appreciate your opinion of the Rose Garden Inn in San Luis Obispo and would like to use your review to help make us better. Would you please respond to us by email at rgislo1@gmail.com. We do not get reviews like yours on a regular basis, as you can see by our Tripadvisor reviews, and we want to do all we can to correct any issues. Please let us know the room number you stayed in, to better help us with our service to our guests. Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff was very friendly and flexible when we asked about staying an additional night, even though we weren't ready to commit to it at the time we asked. Also,we got there during a heat wave and they made sure our room had a working air conditioner. I'm rating this place a "4" only because it is very basic. It actually rates more like a "5" when compared to other places charging comparable prices.

Room Tip: We just asked for a quiet room, which they were able to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review and such a great rating, but mostly we want to thank you for picking us when you had so many hotels in the area to chose from. We sincerely appreciate our guests and hope they all get a chance to come back and see us again soon....especially since that heat wave is now over and all you need is an open window for some fresh air!
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parlier, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Rose Garden Inn June 28, 2013 I picked this place since the pictures on the site looked really nice but when I got their I was wrong. The room I was in was 211 and was very old the shower was clogged up and I had water up to my ankles, my 14 year old son could not unlocked the bathroom door he was stuck inside the restroom until the maid came down to open it with the key, do not stay alone in that room cause if you closed the restroom door you might now be able to open it.

Inside the restroom the door handle had pieces of metal and I cut my hand trying to open the door and the mattress foundation looked very old with urine stains. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else when I had brought up my concerns to the lady at the front desk she said she will tell the manager but no one ever contacted me.

Room Tip: Stay out of room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Shelly862,
I want to sincerely thank you for taking the time to review The Rose Garden Inn, in San Luis Obispo, and for speaking with me on the phone. Since your review, we have changed the lock on the bathroom door, fixed the slow drain, and addressed your concerns about the mattress. We very rarely get poor reviews, and our goal is to make it so we never get poor reviews. You have helped us in that matter tremendously. We hope your stay with us did not dampen your visit to the Central Coast and that you will come to our area again soon.
Sincerely,
Daniel Ibarra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are newly remodeled, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.