We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Highway stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Garden Inn to your Saves list
Rose Garden Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Highway stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2004

I use this hotel every couple of weeks when I'm up in San Luis Obispo on business. For the money it can't be beat. They have a free BBQ most weeknights and the price is less than a motel 6. The staff is very friendly and will try and will help you out with just about anything.
Despite what I have read on this board, I have found the rooms to be better than most of the hotels in San luis obispo, some charge twice the rate. I noticed they were remodeling the hallways and rooms on my last visit. If they do the whole hotel this will be the place to stay in SLO.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    89
    53
    26
    32
See reviews for
94
79
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2003

I had already reserved a room at $49 for each of 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) when I first read the reviews. It was too late to cancel my reservation so it was with some concerns that I checked in.

It wasn't as bad as some of the reviews but the "non smoking" room even had an ash tray with a book of matches in it and it DID smell of some sort of spray that must have been used to try to get rid of the horrible stale nicotine odor---impossible to do. Sort of a sick sweet smell that I found had permeated my night clothes when I got them out at a B&B at our next destination.

The sheets on the bed were about a foot too short to reach from top to bottom and the carpet though not badly worn, had several large spots where something had been dropped on it and which wouldn't come out.

It had a pretty decent decent bathroom that looked like it had been renovated. None of the report mold/mildew that others have reported or the badly worn carpeting. It was reasonably quiet for being within 50 yards of Highway 101. The person above produced creaking noises on what is obviously a wooden floor/ceiling overhead and got up and left about 5:30 AM. I noticed several big trucks parking on the road outside so I guess the truckers stay there.

I think I'll take my chances next time if I want an inexpensive room by going to Motel 6 which will likely be $10 more but which can be reasonably counted on for what you are reserving.

Until they throw out the cigarette saturated furniture, bedding and capreting - and paint the place freshly and and make it a truly NO SMOKING place I won't subject myself to that odor again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2003

Very nice staff at the front desk. Room was large and fairly clean but somewhat run down. One bed's sheets were stained from who knows what, but the other's were OK. Matresses were old and uncomfortable. The Motel 6 next door was about the same price when I was there and is probably a better option.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2003

I read the other reviews before we traveled but it was the best rate in town so we decided to see for ourselves. We arrived, checked in with a real nice guy at the desk and went to our room. The room wasn't the Ritz but it was really big and we found it very clean. New carpet was inthe hallways and the lobby was actually really cute. I guess some people want to pay nothing and get a butler to go with it. We found everything very acceptable and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2003

I saw this hotel's sign from the freeway and stopped in on my trip to San Jose. It was a nice best western style hotel. Big rooms, nice pool. Hallways looled like they had just been remodeled. Really good price for the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2003

Got this one from Hotwire (listed as a 1-star). Figured it had to be decent. Boy, was I wrong! Way overpriced and a dump to boot! It was obvious there had been a flood as evidenced by water marks on the ceiling which resembled a terrain map of elevations and by the mold on the boxsprings and on the mattress. I went to tuck in the sheets and my fingers came out with black stuff on them. Mattress and boxsprings were also stained which reminded me of the TLC Morgue show I had seen recently. We ended up sleeping in our clothes -- on top of the sheets, but not on the comforter. At 11 at night, after a day's worth of driving, it would not have been fun to go looking for another hotel, or even another room. How did we do it?!?!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2003

There are some good reasons this property did not recieve a AAA rating. The place is literally coming apart at the seams, the walls are cardboard thick, the whole interior reeks of decades of cigarette smoke, the grounds are littered with tons of cigarette butts, trash and old shoes. Our room had a diesel/bug spray smell to it from whatever all the furniture had been treated with. The bedding could really use replacing as well, it just seemed very old.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are newly remodeled, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.