We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising two star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Rose Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprising two star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Accomodations are usually expensive in SLO. But we got a great deal on Hotwire. Hotel had two star rating and we were a bit concerned in what to expect. They had a large pool and nice new hot tub. But clerk said he closed pool area early? It would have been nice to enjoy it and not just view it. Recliner in room had stains. Had to drape it with towels to use. Rooms very old. But housekeeping did a great job cleaning as best they could. Morning female front desk clerk not friendly, just there. They gave coupons for local eateries but local restaurant overpriced. You can drive to reasonable priced restaurants. They had rose bushes surround property thus the name. It was a good deal and stay for two star property. But I would never pay their published website rate of over $100 even if property is in SLO.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    48
    23
    31
See reviews for
86
72
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was ok. We got there around 9:30 pm and found that the only rooms left were ones with two double beds, I had reserved two queens. The desk clerk said that if someone wants a room with two beds they just give the queens out first until they are out of them, regardless what you reserved. Had a terrible nights sleep since we are used to king beds at home - I ended up just sleeping on the floor.They did give us a 20% discount in the morning, but frankly I would have rather had the queen bed :(. Otherwise, the room was pretty clean, the coffee in the lobby was ok (they did have real cream which was GREAT!) Good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Even though the desk clerk told us that the pool was heated to 80 degrees, it sure wasn't. They had it roped off and we had to walk through grass and rocks to get to it. The spa was shut down completely. I'd say the pool was about 60 degrees, if that. No breakfast in the morning that was worth it. When we checked in, they gave us a coupon for Margie's Diner right next door-but it was for breakfast and only 10% off-given the high prices at the Diner, it wasn't even worth it. Would not stay here again. Room was ok. Bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAHA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a very nice place for the money. Had friendly service from the hotel staff, were given a clean room, with easy parking and it was very convenient to Pismo Beach, less than 10 miles away on highway 101,
This hotel appeared to have been built a few decades ago and even though it had been renovated a while ago, there was still a noise problem from other guests rooms beside and above our room, however the hotel was completely full so earplugs were the order of the night until about 12pm. Coffee & Refrigerator in the large double-double room was nice.
The Frontage road which used to lead to it has been cut off across from the off-ramp and GPS seemed to be clueless how to get to it, so I had to turn right (north) from the freeway and then turned left immediately at the first light.
The pool area had just been redone and was not available (waiting for approval of the County Inspector) but appeared to be very nice, with a waterfall next to the large Jacuzzi.
If you ask at the front desk, the clerk will give you a $5 off coupon for Margie's Diner (conveniently next door and served good 50's diner food at 2012 prices) next door.

Room Tip: No elevator, however upper rooms should be quieter! And if the Desk Clerk doesn't offer the $5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because it had a swimming pool, we are traveling with two girls (13 & 10 ) and they love to swim and after a long day in the car this is something they looked forward to. On arrival we noticed a sign informing us that the pool was in fact closed!! We were told that this was due to them having a hot tub installed and " that it would be a good thing to come back for" being from Virginia this was not likely to happen. An email or a reduction in room rate would have been nice. The room was spacious and clean, mind you the walls are paper thin and the bathroom appeared not to have benefited from the refurb, cracked sink and marked bath. The toiletries also seemed as if they had been used or refilled, not good. Margie's diner next door was nice for dinner but a little expensive for breakfast even with the $5 coupon so we didn't bother.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are newly remodeled, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.