We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points Package
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First and foremost, the best Salmon Salad – flaky, melt in your mouth goodness – I've had in a LONG time! The salad fresh and crisp and the vinaigrette was perfect! However, the service wasn’t as good as our salad, our waitress was a bit haughty and slow.
I really enjoyed the balcony – it was great to have a balcony that we could open and let in the fresh air!
We had ample storage and lots of functional furniture, however the furniture were a little worse for wear. The pieces were dingy, dinged, and scuffed – definitely well-used!
Breakfast AWESOME! Fresh fruit – more than just an apple or an orange, they offered cut melons – YUM! Lots of choices, with eggs made to order. And every evening they had a Manager Happy Hour to encourage socialization.
Their Saturday Morning Farmers Market is the best! – Being vegan I ENJOYED the market VERY much. My poor husband – he’s not vegan, but he had several clean meals before he went off to McDonald’s!
Beds and pillows comfy – good night’s sleep! And the bedroom clock radio was nice – they had preset stations for different genres – just press the genre of your choice and enjoy!
It was a little difficult to find, tucked behind a shopping center, but well-worth the extra effort – and the shopping was good!
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I definitely would NOT want a room where the French doors open to the courtyard. Noisy and not much...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a wonderful system in place for recycling. However, the downside is that garbage is left by your door until the person responsible for picking up the recyclables arrives.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Luanne C;

Your kind remarks are very much appreciated. I would have to agree, the Salmon is excellent as are many other choices on our new menu. Many guests positively comment on our cook to order breakfast as you have and find great value in this amenity. So glad you were able to take advantage of the Farmer's Market Saturday morning; the location is ideal directly located in our parking lot.

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    215
    119
    47
    28
See reviews for
255
119
21
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This Embassy Suites was just old. Not worth the premium dollars. other nicer newer hotels are cheaper in the area. This Hotel was noisy, not very clean and the pull out bed was about to fall apart. The breakfast however, was fantastic! I would only stay here again, if the other hotels were sold out.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators, and the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear CBS_13;

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo and for your posted comments. In response to your comments regarding the pull out bed I am pleased to announce that we are in the process of replacing all mattresses on our pull out sofa sleepers; we are approximately 2/3 complete with this project. Regarding noise levels and your cleanliness concerns, my aplogies for not meeting your expectaions. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us as we continually look to improve our overall operation. And yes, we get many positive comments on our complimentary cook to order breakfast - thank you.

We do hope that when back in the area you give us the opportunity to be of service again.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel seemed stale and in need of updates. Our meeting room smelled of sewer (it was next to a bathroom and we could frequently hear the doors banging) Carpet stains throughout. Upon arrival, trash piled up outside room and lots of highway noise, b/c sliding door was open. It would not shut, when I finally did get the latch to catch - it would not open. No fresh air or coffee on the balcony for me!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear 260sonyab;

Thank you for taking the time to give us candid feedback regarding your stay. Your experience at our hotel and your posted comments are very concerning to me and have my personal attention. We do take great pride in maintaining our facility at a much higher level than what you experienced. Your comments will be shared with all pertinent departments heads and they will be addressed immediately.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is our fourth stay at this property and again, we were not disappointed. Check-in was easy and the staff friendly. Our room was great, as usual. The breakfast was everything we expected and the hotel met our needs. Is it the nicest looking hotel? No. Is it clean and with the amenities one would expect from an Embassy Suites? Absolutely! Well done, Embassy Suites - SLO!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear fredy19;

Thank you for your continued patronage to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our friendly staff, our breakfast, cleanliness and amenities. We certainly hope to have you back for your 5th visit soon.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

went to visit CAL Poly student last week. first time staying at this hotel. I still haven't found one in SLO I really like. Suite was ok but a little dirty, bed was comfortable. We stayed on the ground floor which overlooked the eating area, it was not very private at all. Indoor pool was nice. Free breakfast was good as long as you take the time to go through the fresh omelet line. They have a free reception in the evening with free drinks... it was nice, although some overindulged! Big shopping center within walking distance as was Laguna lake. Same holds true as always- when in SLO, subtract a star compared to any other town.
Check your bill carefully, had a charge for an international call on my bill that we didn't make!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Polymom;

Hope you got your Cal Poly student off to a great start. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I was disappointed to learn of your cleanliness concerns but will follow up with our Executive Housekeeper. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and hour hotel's location. Hopefully you will be able to explore all that the area has to offer during your next visit to SLO.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Usually, Embassy Suites are fairly consistent. Some are much nicer than others, depending on a few things. This hotel however, is on the not so nice side. The lobby is lovely as in all Embassy Suites. Although this particular property seems older, perhaps back in the 70's? It is also on the smaller side with only 4 floors. Ample complimentary parking is the norm as here. The reception staff was professional and cordial.

Unfortunately, the customer service at Peete's coffee stand within the lobby, was not! The employee left some guests waiting at the stand for a bit while he was sitting a few feet away at the bar doing something else. It wasn't until the bartender asked if they wanted to order, that the employee got up. He did not seem too happy about it and it showed through his lack of enthusiasm and rush.

Besides the standard amenities provided, a couple of features that this hotel boasts are a tiny arcade room (for the kids) and a small Avis Car Rental office. How convenient is that? Have not seen those before.... The pool area was fine and the fitness center was efficient enough.

The room was OK, but needed attention to as in cleaning and repairs. There was dust, sticky stains and tears in various areas of the room. The sofa bed was old and uncomfortable. A hole was above the bathroom ceiling. Water was dripping from the air conditioner. The pillows were stained, the blankets had holes and tears in them. Needless to say, another room was requested the next day. It was not much better. Had to kill at least 5 tiny flies throughout the night (not sure what they were) and it was only those that were visible. The rooms are too dark and needs more efficient lighting or brighter decor. The ventilation system was terrible. An exterminator was seen making his rounds one day. On two occasions, saw old, dirty mattresses held up against the walls near guestroom doors. Trash was not picked up right away but left in the hallways.

Breakfast was fine. Made to order was really good and they were really nice. There were so many people, no one even cared to check the guests for breakfast tickets. For all anyone knew, people off the streets could have had a free meal or two. The tables were not cleaned on time. Some guests had to do it themselves. Others started piling their dirty trays on a few empty tables. It could have been an under-staffed day or perhaps that is how it is during peak times. Nevertheless, not worth a return trip....nor was it worth over $120/night!

Room Tip: Look over the room before you unpack and get comfortable. If it does not meet your satisfaction, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear tinaglobetrots;

I want to certainly thank you for taking the time to give us candid feedback regarding your stay. I have made notation of all your concerns and I assure you they will be addressed. My team takes great pride in delivering exceptional service and they will be disappointed, as I am, that we fell short of meeting your expectations, and ours. I sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to be of service in the future.

I wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had the "princess Room" above the buffet area. It was nice, please avoid it to sleep. Do not try to change rooms. On a busy weekend, it is near impossible. The manager is very nice. The breakfast was very good. The food is is bit explore the area for authentic food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear swimmer's_mom;

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo for your recent visit. I regret that we were not able to move your guest room suite upon request due to the occupancy of our hotel. I understand that your suite location above our breakfast area was a bit noisy and for that I do apologize.

We invite you back for another visit and we will do our very best to accomodate your suite location request upon arrival.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive free breakfast, complimentary cocktails and snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The onsite restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine from Executive Chef Kirk Sowell. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access. Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.