We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time Embassy Suites visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 for Toys for Tots
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
xxxxxxxx, United States
1 review
“First time Embassy Suites visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice hotel with nice accomodations. I would stay again for business or pleasure. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I was pleased with the amenities and the breakfast. Great place for business!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sharon W;

Thank you for your great comments regarding our staff and the amenities of our hotel. Hope to see you back soon for your next business or leisure trip.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    205
    109
    44
    27
See reviews for
247
112
20
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel needs to be refresh. It's tired and dated in the rooms. The staff is great and the breakfast is wonderful. Lots of families , so very noisy. The menu need to be updated as well. I got nothing extra as diamond member. wish they had a regular Hilton in the area. Great area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Fernando S;

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments regarding our great staff and our complimentary breakfast. I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton brand and recognize your Diamond status which is very important to us. Due to our hotel's destination location and configuration we do have many families that stay with us. It can get a bit noisy at times as you mentioned; that being said, my apologies for the noise factor.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we truly hope to see you back for a future visit.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adjuntas, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days during a conference in the same hotel. I got to San Luis Obispo airport around 10:15pm and called the hotel to see if the shuttle was operating but unfortunately it wasnt so plan ahead if you are considering taking it after 10p thank God somebody in the airport knew a taxi-man and called him as there were no taxis at that hour. I enjoyed my stay, the two room suite and particularly the cook to order breakfast...and the chocolate cupcakes are amazing. I used their Gym and it was very decent with two modern elliptical and I think three treadmills a bike and weights, all very clean. I also used their $4 shuttle service to go to the Farmers Market which was a great deal for those of us without car. I got some groceries in a nearby Ralphs and used the fridge and microwave for simple stuff. They also had an evening reception with free beer, wines and snacks but I didnt tried those however everybody looked pleased. I will say the only downside is that is not in downtown but if you have a car that shouldn't be a problem

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear silarem;

Thank you for your great comments and I was very glad to see that you were able to stay with us over a 5 day period. Looks like you were able to take full advantage of our two room suites, our comp cook to order breakfast and our recently updated fitness center. Perhaps next time you will be able to take advantage of our comp evening reception. We hope to see you back soon.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Embassy Suites in SLO is an excellent hotel within the Hilton network. Our family thoroughly enjoyed the experience--everything from the complimentary breakfast to the wonderful amenities. It was great to be close to attractive destinations such as Hearst Castle and Pismo Beach. We would most definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Sounds like your family had an excellent visit and were able to take advantage of nearby attractions such as Hearst Castle. We appreciate your business and we truly hope to see you back in the near future.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and I was very satisfied both times. The only con was I tried to check in a bit early and they were unable to help me out. The free breakfast is very good with made to order omelets/poached eggs if you prefer and to top it off, there is a Peet's coffee right next to the Buffet, I enjoyed a great Latte.

There is a great happy hour with wine and beer. I consider myself a wine snob and the Cabernet actually wasn't too bad. The snacks were fairly healthy, carrots, celery, chips and salsa. We had dinner at Tahoe Joe's, just a 3 minute walk from the hotel and it was excellent! Don't miss the awesome farmers market on Saturday mornings right outside the front door of the hotel. If I remember correctly, it starts at 8:00 and ends at 10:45a.m.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear davidsantacruz;

Thank you very much for your return visit to our hotel. Glad to see that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary cook to order breakfast and evening reception. We do offer Pete's Coffee which is also a crowd favorite. As you mentioned, the area has a fantastic Farmer's Market and I hope you were able to take advantage of that as well.

We look forward to your next visit to SLO.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

furniture in the room was not usable, no soap in the bath area, the hair dryer did not work, no free wifi, rude front desk staff when I checked in. Did not like the $50.00 per day charge for extras that I did not use and so far no refund on my credit card! The hotel has an unpleasant odor - smelled like dirty socks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Laura B;

First off, thank you for your direct feedback regarding your stay- guest feedback is incredibly important to us. Our goal is to completely satisfy each and every guest and I am very disappointed that we fell short of your expectations, and quite frankly, ours. We will certainly address the "condition" and "amenity" issues that you mentioned with our team. Regarding the $50.00 dollar daily charge it is simply how our computer system accounts for potential incidental charges if a debit card is used. Upon check out, if the funds were not used your bank releases those funds which can take a couple of days based on your banking institution. We have signage at the front desk which alerts guests to these procedures if a debit card is used. My sincere apologies if we did not effectively explain those procedures at check in.

Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent several nights exploring the Pismo Beach-San Luis Obispo area, and we used the SLO Embassy Suites as our base. At first it didn't look promising, hidden away in the back of a large shopping mall. But we had such a pleasant experience there -- the free breakfasts were terrific. Everything you could possibly want (including made-to-order omelets). Our room was quiet, although the living area had no window so it seemed too dark most of the time. They also offer a free cocktail hour every night for two hours -- another good deal. Sometimes we'd order an appetizer or two from the adjoining restaurant, and that was our dinner. The front desk staff was helpful, the housekeeping staff kept things neat and clean. Altogether, a very pleasant experience.

Green Features: They keep a recyling bin in each room so you can feel good about putting all your recyclables there.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Joanne E;

Thank you very much for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. So glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you found our desk staff helpful and that you enjoyed the services of our suite keeping department. You are correct, San Luis Obispo is absolutely gorgeous as well as surrounding areas such as Pismo Beach. We certainly hope that you are able to make it back to the area soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive free breakfast, complimentary cocktails and snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The onsite restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine from Executive Chef Kirk Sowell. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access. Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.