We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has to wait more than two hours for our room to be ready and it was all down hill from there.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points Package
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Has to wait more than two hours for our room to be ready and it was all down hill from there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I checked into the hotel today. We arrived 45 minutes before check in and were told our room was not ready, but that it would be soon. We were directed by Ryan to come back in an hour. I asked that he call us when it was ready as we had traveled a great distance and were in need of being out of the car. We left and explored the adjoining shopping center for an hour. We returned and spoke with Ryan who told is our room was still not ready, now 15 minutes past check in time. Ryan stated he placed a rush with housekeeping to get our room ready. I asked why that hadn't been done an hour earlier. Ryan replied it had. He then told us we would need to wait. I observed that other families with children were also waiting in the lobby. I suggested that Ryan comp us some drinks and appetizers for our inconvenience. He complied with my demand but only provided half as many drink coupons as I had in my party (2 instead of 4).
I went to the bar to get my comped items, but no bartenders or kitchen staff were to be found. I approach the front desk again to be told they would call someone for me. So I went back and stood at the empty bar for five minutes before a bartender appeared. He was warm and helpful providing the four drinks at no charge (even though we only had two coupons). He said he noticed me standing there while he was walking the forth floor, not because he got a call). Another hour later...we ate our appetizer and my kids ran through all of my change in the game room, sick of waiting we approached the front desk and requested to speak with the manager. Magically our room was ready. No one had come to get us from their own lobby. I wonder how long I would have sat there? Once we got to our room we treated to stained carpets and threadbare furniture. We requested an extra blanket and had to wait an hour and a half until 10:17 PM before it was delivered. I was told by the front desk twice that my request was given to housekeeping and that they had a lot of requests to deal with. Finally housekeeping arrived and dropped off three towels instead of a blanket. I once again got the front desk to be told housekeeping is really busy they would put in my request.
I am still checked into this hotel and wishing I could leave.
It is so obvious that this site has management problems. Employees do not communicate with each other and are not focused on the guest experience. I will never stay at this property again and if I can get out of my reservation for tomorrow, I will be leaving in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear LG;

First of all, thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your arrival experience and the delay in getting you into your suite, the coupon issue for your drinks (though I was happy to see that our bartender was warm and helpful), the condition of your guest room suite and for the confusion regarding your requested blanket. Quite frankly, I would have been just as frustrated as you and I sincerely apologize for your overall experience at our hotel. This is unacceptable and I assure you we will take your feedback to heart and act on your feedback as we continue to improve our overall hotel operations.

Once again, my sincere apologies and thank you so much for your candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    215
    120
    47
    28
See reviews for
255
119
21
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel was simple to find, right off the freeway. Hotel staff was pleasant and efficient. After a long drive from San Diego, moving our daughters apartment furnishings to San Luis Obispo, the Embassy Suites was a welcome overnight stop. Cocktail reception relaxing, bed and room were very comfortable and morning breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main dining area (with no rail in front of the rooms) are noisy during the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear nutgka;

I was pleased to read your review of our hotel. Many guests find our location very convenient off the freeway and close to many restuarants, shopping facilities and of course Cal Poly. I was also glad to see that you enjoyed our complimentary coctail reception, complimentary breakfast and our guest room suites.

I wish you and your family the very best and hope that your daughter adjusts well to San Luis Obispo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Obisbo, Calif, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the phone call I made to make the reservation to the check out and departure...the entire process was positive. Outstanding facilities and outstanding employees!! The company is obviously investing in employee selection and training! I will recommend Embassy Suites to all my friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear C, Tidd D;

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding the reservation process, our facilities and our outstanding associates. I will be sure to share your comments with our team.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful providing information on local establishments for eating and entertainment. The complimentary breakfast and manager's reception add tremendous value to the facility. Ease of access to main highway helped in maximizing our ability to reach local establishments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Arturo B;

Very pleased to learn that our staff provided helpful information on local establishments for dining choice considerations; the San Luis Obispo area has many eating and entertainment options. We hear often that our complimentary breakfast and evening reception are an exceptional value and we thank you for those comments as well.

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo. We look forward to your next stay.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, CA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My stay was made that much easier by staying at Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo, CA. It was centrally located and was easily accessed from major highways and convenience stores restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jeffrey A P;

Thank you for your kind words in regards to our hotel's convenient central location and easy access to the highway. We agree, the area does have many stores and restaurants for patrons to enjoy.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were very happy with our one night stay at Embassy Suites SLO. The beds are really comfortable, great happy hour (only two hours but includes more than just beer and wine), good breakfast the next morning, and a great location all at a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Rosemary 78;

Thank you for your posted comments; location, comp breakfast & happy hour along with our great beds are comments we hear quite often.

Safe travels and we'll see you next time.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Well, they try hard here, but just had a hard time getting things right. I always request a room away from the elevator, but not to far away. I received the farthest room possible away from the main elevators and right next to the service elevator. This after the gal assured me it was not to far from the elevator. They moved us to another room, but should not have had to move in the first place. At night we turned on the TV in our room to fall asleep to, but of course it didn't work. After not receiving a 7:30 wake up call the front desk replied to my call to them by saying, "It's automated so it has to work". Once I was up I went to get to the shower but had to wait for them to bring shampoo up. Each mishap they fixed, but not until after the trouble. The food staff and bartenders were generally pleasant and did a good job.

The hotel itself while not dirty is also not to the standards of most Embassy's. It is a older version which does not bother me as it is still nice even without the ponds and waterfalls. The rooms are poorly designed with the bathroom door hitting my wife while she is doing her makeup and a desk situated right behind the bedroom door. Overall, the rooms are spacious compared to other hotels but not as nice as you would expect from an Embassy. The beds here did my back no favors. The indoor pool is average at best with a small hot tub. The location of the hotel is excellent. Five minutes to downtown and twelve to the beach.

We used points to stay here so I don't know what it costs, but I would hope that it is on the inexpensive side. If you don't stay at the Embassy suites often or at all then this place would probably seem fine. If you do stay at them often as we do you would know that this one is below average compared to the others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrgEmbassy, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Redhead32;

I was very disappointed to learn that we had difficulty meeting your guest room suite expectations. You are absolutely correct, we should have done a much better job finding you the right accomodations up front and without hassle. I was also disappointed to see that your TV did not work properly and that you did not receive your 7:30 wake up call. Your experience is unacceptable to us and we will work hard to rectify these issues going forward.

Though as you mentioned our property is a bit older we take great pride in maintaining it to Embassy Suite standards and also take great pride in providing ouststanding customer service. I was glad to learn that you did feel our rooms were spacious and I hope that added to your comfort while here. We generally receive positive feedback regarding our beds but we will definitely look into the room you stayed in to ensure the mattress is of the highest quality.

Thank you so much for your patronage to the Hilton brand of hotels and thank you for choosing Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive free breakfast, complimentary cocktails and snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The onsite restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine from Executive Chef Kirk Sowell. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access. Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.