We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 for Toys for Tots
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Convenient Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I and a Friend spent three nights at Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo. We thought the hotel was very good and a good value. It was about 5 minutes (by car) to downtown, the hotel was quiet (our rooms were not facing the atrium where breakfast and manager's reception are held), the breakfast was varied and good. We enjoyed shopping at the outdoor vegetable market in front of the hotel (one day a week on Saturday) and then having a picnic later in the day.

Room Tip: Don't face the atrium which we heard could be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear KARDEX2DOG,

Thank you for your valuable comments on your experience and thank you for being our guest. We were delighted to hear that your recent stay was terrific and informing our future guests what they should expect.

Looking forward very much indeed to the opportunity of welcoming you back to San Luis Obispo and the Embassy Suites.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    203
    104
    44
    26
See reviews for
240
111
19
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great place !! Rooms were nice and quite. Breakfast was spectacular !! Omlete bar, sausage and bisquits, french toast, pancakes, you name it they had it. This was a stop over on our way to Pacific Grove. Would love to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Happyinthedesert,

Thank you and we are delighted that your stay, en-route to lovely Pacific Grove, was brilliant. Really happy that your experiences during our legendary complimentary breakfast was superb.

We all are very much looking forward to your next stay, and as you made mention to, perhaps a little longer next time.

Thank you, safe travels and until the next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Don't let the Madonna Road address confuse you--it's best acessed from Dilidio Drive or behind the shopping area where the Bed Bath and Beyond and World market is. The suites are well maintained and nice sized. Furniture a bit worn looking in places. The breakfasts are wonderful. Manager's reception in the evening could be upgraded a bit from the few crudites and chips and salsa and party mix offered although it is nice that they offer beer and wine and a few "nibbles", I'm just comparing to other manager socials and it seeme lacking. There are several decent chain restaurants within walking distance also nice for a tired travelor.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevators. There are no "good view rooms" as you overlook the mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sunny405,

Thank you for being our guest and am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and some of the Embassy Suites legendary amenities. Thank you also for informing our future guests of the opportunity we have regarding our actual street location. We were actually attached to an indoor mall and had a tremendous amount of visibility from Madonna Road, however when the mall was transformed, as it stands today, we still have the same address and the new shops were given new one's, certainly helps them with the GPS directions.

Again thank you and we all look forward to your next visit to San Luis Obispo.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Difficult to find the location, as it is in a large shopping mall. The room was large and the sitting room was separated from the bedroom which was nice. Very outdated. Toilet ran. It was a sold out weekend in town, so the rate was ridiculously high at $200.
Staff was nice.
Some extras:
Breakfast included in price and included omelets made to order (although I didn't have one).
Also, evening drink and snacks included in lobby from 5:30-7:30.

It was all OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Purpleskis,

Thank you for choosing our Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo and we know you have alternatives here, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the space and evening and morning legendary amenities.

I am terribly sorry for the running facilities - if your time allows to inform us of the room location you stayed we will get this immediately corrected, and again sorry that we did not during your stay. If your time allows to e-mail or contact me directly I will correct.

I do hope, should your plans bring you back to San Luis Obispo you will allow us the opportunity to ensure perfection.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Quick check in and out: great bedding and nice towels; nice comp evening reception. Lobby and reception area very comfortable and inviting. Located in a major outdoor shopping mall with a great store selection.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that front the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear DianaB,

Thank you so kindly for taking your valuable time to congratulate the team here in San Luis Obispo, we are delighted that your experience was as you expected.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Embassy Suites in SLO is a little pricey in comparison to other hotels, however, you do get a lot of extras. Make sure you make it for the "Manager's social" where you can have free drinks and food, and nothing beats their breakfast! Rooms seem to be newly renovated, bathrooms could use updating. But overall a place I will probably stay each visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLOCAES, General Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear awhtmthns,

Thank you for being our guest and am delighted that you had a fantastic time here in San Luis Obispo. We take great pride in our hotel and team and all the amenities the Embassy Suites Brand delivers daily to our guests.

We look forward very much to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the spectacular Central Coast.

Cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive free breakfast, complimentary cocktails and snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The onsite restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine from Executive Chef Kirk Sowell. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access. Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo is 100% non-smoking and a $300 fee will be added when smoking in a non-smoking room or suite. This hotel also has a late check-out policy of a half day rate up until 4PM. After 4PM, the late check-out policy becomes a full day rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.