We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reason for us to stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wine Wrangler Tour
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“No reason for us to stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times in the last year alone. While it is a bit hard to find, once you do find it, you will see that it is pretty convenient to all of SLO. Hint: Exit the highway on Madonna Road, and go left. Drive straight a couple of stoplights and turn left at the Panera Bakery; drive straight to the end of the road and the hotel is adjacent to the freeway at the end of this road. Your GPS will take you to the front of the shopping center, but you cannot and will not see the hotel from there, so do not freak out, just go through the center towards the freeway, all the way to the back, and Voila, you will find the hotel.

The staff is well trained and courteous. The rooms are older, but in good shape; standard quality Embassy Suites. There is the standard manager's reception with open bar each evening and the usual, excellent, hot cooked breakfasts each morning. The cardio/exercise room is quite adequate and overlooks the indoor pool. The pool has too much cholorine, and the jacuzzi/spa is sometimes too hot or too cold, but it works. There is no reason for us to stay anywhere else is SLO, this place is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our property. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to the next time we have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    167
    79
    35
    26
See reviews for
201
90
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

the worst thing about this place is finding it. The address is on Madonna Road, but the motel is a large block back from the street and partially obscured by the shopping center. The "front" is also not too obvious. We had not stayed in an Embassy for quite a while. This one has many features we remembered and some upgrades.
Our room, 410, lacks the large bar area, but they have put the bathroom accessible to both the bedroom and the sitting/sleeping other room. Our toilet had a broken hinge, which was repaired within 20 minutes of our reporting it. Water pressure in the shower was a bit weak. We were happy with all the other aspects of the room (only one TV). We stayed two nights. The breakfast was as we remembered from the past, except is was run much more efficiently. Buffet and made to order eggs/omletts, plus. Speciality coffees were available (fee). Real plates and silverware. Enough room to handle all of us. The evening was where the differences were the greatest. They have a restraurant for those that care to buy dinner in. The free/inclusive snacks and drinks have changed too. Full open bar. Real glassware. Stemed wine glasses. Wine and beer come from bottles. Big upgrade from plasic cups and cardboard wine. The snacks had a bit more variety, but not really upgraded from what we remember. We would stay again. Part of the Hilton Honors Program.

Room Tip: Upper floors may be quieter. We could hear noice from the lobby, but they do close everything at 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review of our hotel, we do like to think we do things just a tad better than then other Embassy, and we are happy to hear that the challenge in your room was quickly resolved for you. Our location is a challenge to find, and we do apologize that this is the case. We have tried for many years, to increase the amount of signage directing guests to the hotel, however at this time the city finds it to be sufficient and will not grant further signs. You can always contact our Front Desk at 805.549.0800 and we would be happy to help you get here. Best wishes for the rest of the week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancunium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is barely in SLO but access is good and the service provided at the hotel was friendly and helpful. I'm afraid that Embassy Suites in general could learn a thing or two from Homewood Suites at Del Rey (San Diego - which I have also reviewed) when it comes to the breakfast concept. Only the "fry it or grill it" brigade are well catered for.

Comfortable rooms, well laid out, but a shame that there is only a mini fridge and microwave - but no provision for eating in the suite (utensils etc).

Nice enough stay and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are continually working with our culinary team to offer more “healthy” options for our guests, as we recognize not everyone wants fried potatoes and omelets for breakfast. Please feel free to contact me directly with any specific suggestions that you may have, we certainly appreciate feedback from our guests, the travel experts. We have never discussed having utensils in the rooms, but I guarantee you this will be on our next meeting agenda. Thanks for suggestion, have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just came back from a 2 night stay at the SLO Embassy Suites, and can only say nice things about it. This was my second stay there, for a business conference, and I was very pleased about the entire visit.
The location is great-close to stores and restaurants, not far from the downtown area, and across the street is a beautiful park with a lake, which is nice for a morning or evening walk.
The complimentary breakfast is fantastic, and the free evening happy hour was a special treat! The staff-from front desk to breakfast servers-are very nice and cheerful, and make you feel welcome.
I was given a two-room suite, which was way too big for me, as I was alone and only used the bedroom. The room was clean and the bathroom was fine. The only complaint I have about the room was that the sliding glass doors faced the freeway, and it was really loud when I opened them to air out the room. It was quiet with the doors closed, so sleeping wasn't a problem.
Also, you will be charged for WiFi, which is really a pet peeve of mine, and the reason I didn't give a 5-star rating. I fail to understand why a big hotel chain charges for Internet access, when small little motels don't.
Despite the WiFi charge and freeway noise, I would go back to the Embassy Suites happily. The hotel is nice, location good, and the staff is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we truly are blessed to have the people that we do working here. We love to here from guests that were here as a part of a conference, as we go to great lengths to make sure that our groups have the best experience possible. Hopefully next time you are in the area it is purely for fun, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My family and I were guests at the Embassy Suites in San Luis Obispo during the Memorial Day Weekend and were very pleased with our accommodations. The Embassy was our home base during our travels to the San Luis Obispo area to attend the Strawberry Festival in Arroyo Grande and my kids first trip to Hearst Castle (they really enjoyed it) and I couldn't ask for a better place to stay in the area.

From the suite, to the indoor pool (my kids loved the pool), exercise area (plenty of thread mills and elliptical machines and dumbbells) to the cook to order breakfast buffet and complimentary managers reception held in the Atrium, my kids, wife and mother in law had nothing but good things to say about the hotel.

In addition, the hotel is in a great location being in a shopping plaza (Forever 21 is located there for all of the shoppers out there) and across the street from a Sports Authority, numerous restaurants to choose from and there is another shopping plaza with a Target and Dicks Sporting Goods that is with-in a mile of the hotel.

Also, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo is only 15 minutes away, a very easy drive and easy freeway access from the hotel. Oh, another nice little thing is that there is a drive in across from the hotel.

Our suite (two double queen beds and pull out sofa bed) had plenty of room for all six of us (mom, 17 y.o. daughter, 12 and 14 y.o. son's, mother in law and myself) and we never felt like we were tripping over each other. With the two T.V's in the living room and bedroom there wasn't any fighting for the remote or what TV show to watch.

When I travel for business or leisure, I usually try to stay at a Embassy Suites because I know that the product will always be kept at a high standard and you can tell the the GM, DOS, engineering and housekeeping staff really care about their hotel and once again I was not disappointed.

So if you find yourself going to the San Luis Obispo area, I highly recommend choosing the Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo because you will not be disappointed and your family will be happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are lucky in that not only do our GM, DOS, engineering and housekeeping departments care about our hotel, but also our guest services, culinary, banquet and sales departments. We work incredibly closely to ensure our guest experience, and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Thanks for all the ideas of local things to do and area attractions, sounds like you all were busy! Have a great week
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, Ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Came on Thursday for the Farmer's Market. While it is a VERY busy hotel. The staff is on their game. The staff, on this visit truely did standout. The hotel can be a bit noisy as breakfast starts at 0630. But, my opinion, best in SLO.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you very much! We look forward to having you as our guest once again, it is our pleasure to be at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Good place and decent value for the area. Free happy hour and breakfast is a nice compliment to the visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed our “extras!” Hope to see you again the next time you are in SLO. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel
Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Embassy Suites
Address: 333 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near SLO Wine country and gorgeous beaches, this hotel is perfect for your San Luis Obispo vacation! All guests receive free breakfast, complimentary cocktails and snacks at the nightly evening reception and spacious, two-room suites. The hotel offers a shuttle to the famous SLO Farmer's market for $4 round-trip every Thursday night. The onsite restaurant, Greenhouse Grill and Cafe, offers delicious Californian cuisine from Executive Chef Kirk Sowell. Enjoy an indoor pool, 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and high speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.