We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than you expect. Great location, decent hotel to stay at.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Ramada San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Much better than you expect. Great location, decent hotel to stay at.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We were hesitant to stay at this Ramada due to some of the other reviews posted below. It's not a luxury hotel, however, it's clean, in a good location, the room was large and had a kitchenette (very important to us) , a pool and as an added surprise, a small laundromat. Everything was clean and comfortable. As some other former guests have mentioned, it could use a facelift, some of the furniture is older and paint is chipping, etc. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. The staff was very helpful.

One tip - ask for extra pillows and towels upon checking in. It will make your stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    82
    91
    99
See reviews for
149
65
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN FRANCISCO
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

The service and quality of room is worse than a Motel.

I would NEVER even recommend this to my enemies. I am a Platinum member with Marriott and wanted to try Ramada out, hoping that this would be at par, but after staying at the Ramada h(m)otel, here are a few things that I would like to bring out:

1. Looks like the carpets were not cleaned. Both my wife and son's allergies got triggered very badly after staying in the room for 2 nights, and it took them 7 days of medication to overcome it.

2. There are no utensils in the kitchen - What is the use of a kitchen if you don't even provide a saucepan for heating milk? I asked the front desk (looked like the owner of the motel) and they said that no utensils, and that they expect the leisure travels to carry their own utensils

3. Towels and toileteries - Despite repeatedly telling them and asking for a total of 4-5 towels, the hotel won't send towels to the room . We had to go down 2 times to get the towel ourselves; and the towels are all worn out. Felt like 10 years old.

4. Continental breakfast - Looks like the definition of "Continental breakfast" is not known by the hotel. There was tasteless coffee, NO milk, NO Cereal. Only breakfast items were 2 days old bagels, and stale cupcakes of some kind. My kid threw up after eating the cup cake

5. Appearance - It looks like a motel from outside, very creepy and looks like it has not be maintaned. When you go inside the h(m)otel, your fears come TRUE.

I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Stayed here as a walk-in paying about $110 for the night. Room was reasonably comfortable and acceptably clean. Unfortunately maintenance seems to be an issue and probably the biggest inconvenience was the A/C not working. A lot of little things - only one coffee, no tissues, half a roll of toilet paper...

We were only in for one night on a drive up the coast so it wasn't a big deal, but during our two weeks in California this turned out to be our most expensive room and in the poorest condition.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed here with some friends on a trip up the coast. They made the reservation.

I'm not THAT picky when it comes to hotels, but I would have rather slept in my car. This place is a complete rundown dump, seriously. Other than a decent location, there is absolutely nothing positive about this place. Way outdated, poorly maintained, and just seems shady.

Don't pay to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I would stay at this Ramada Inn again. We stayed two nights in February 2009 ($75/night) and had a very large room (queen) with comfortable seating. It is centrally located to downtown and the college. The complimentary breakfast consisted of bagels, pastries, juice, and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Beware - a motel with side effects! We paid $224 for 2 nights for 2 queen beds and micro-frig - it was a nice room, reasonably quiet even though the motel was full. When we woke up on the first morning we found what we later found out were bed bugs and smears of blood on the bed sheets.

We didn't know anything about bed bugs at the time and it was only when I started scratching during the second night I realised what nasty little things they are.I ended up with bites and hives all over my body even on my face which all itched like crazy

Give the motel credit they replaced the beds and the bed linen but unfortunately the damage was done. Customer service was pretty bad, no explanation and no apology - they kept us hanging about for ages while they "sorted out" our room even though we had been out all morrning.

We had to argue for a refund - the under manager wanted to refer us to his manager who of course wasn't around but eventually stumped up refund for 1 night.

Other niggles- we were locked out twice during our stay from the room, the room safe was locked (they charge you $1 a day for the safe whether you use it or not!), the phone didn't work , the hairdryer was hanging off the wall and the bed coverings and pillows looked old, stained and crumpled. Our first (and last) Ramada stay was a thoroughly unpleasant experience, and 2 days later I'm still scratching. You have been warned.

  • Liked — In room facilities and good size
  • Disliked — Bed bugs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Or and beyond
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

Driving down the coast with the family for spring break my wife and I thought we'd leave one without lodging reservations so that we were not locked into a place to be at for one night. That night we rolled into San Luis Obispo around midnight and decided to call it a night. The first hotel we came across was the Ramada Inn Olive Tree so we stopped there. The hotel was pretty packed already and the price was ok so we decided to stay. We were given room 123 which was fine because the kids were sleeping and I was going to have to carry them to bed so a ground floor room was fine. Upon entering the room we noticed that it smelled of a musty, smokey-stale odor. The room was fairly big, with a back bedroom and walk-in kitchen but the floor was very uneven with huge bulges of something underneath the floor carpets....mostly it was really hard to get past the the stench.....This establishment is in serious need of renovation and fumigation. Luckily our stay was for only a few hours.

Our biggest mistake was not reading reviews before staying!!!

  • Disliked — the smell!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Address: 1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.