We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eww!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Ramada San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
LANCASTER
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eww!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Room had awful smell, carpet dirty, dirty washcloth left in bathroom, sockets too loose to keep charger/curling iron plugged in. 4 light bulbs were burned out. Online photos deceiving. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    46
    90
    103
    110
See reviews for
168
75
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here because of the Ramada name. Well, that was an incorrect assumption that the hotel would be good. I should give some credit to the office check in process that was smooth and an interconnecting room was available. But that's where it stopped. I had my eldest son write a review on what he thought of the hotel, and I must say, I agreed with that so I have cut and paste his view.

On first impressions the ramada inn is quality for money that has more than enough room for 4 people to stay for more than one day.

Then the attention to detail kicks in and the your eyes are immediately drawn to the uncentered pictures and unevenly painted walls. The door that only has one working lock out of the two didn't seem a worry until the nearby ice machine outside of the room started to be used at 3 in the morning. It was not until this point when we all started to play out every horror movie in our minds hoping that the one flimsy, apprentice fitted, shady looking deadbolt lock is enough to hold back whatever horrors are awaiting out there.

The bathroom is another story. The bathroom has poorly covered holes in the walls and the showers leaks something fierce like sand through a colander. The oddly placed showered head makes it extremely hard for an average sized person like myself to wash anything from the shoulder up. The only way it can be done is to lay on ones back and wash your hair while watching the mould on the ceiling dance like multiplying bacteria.

All in all once the day is over everyone closes their eyes and you cant see all the tiny imperfections and when the beds are as comfy as they are who really cares.

Room Tip: No tips to chose good rooms at this place, my tip is to avoid altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ends of the Earth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location, near the fwy, four blocks from Higuera. Food nearby. Rooms were standard 80's style. Not fancy, but clean. The pool shuts for the off season. Bath was small, but adequate. The breakfast was at the lower end of the standard two or three star offering. A couple of bagels, muffins, etc. Good nights sleep. Everything in the room worked. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Ramada chain needs to take a closer look at this franchise. The shabby room had a stain on the comforter, water stains on the ceiling and the carpet felt damp when you walked. The mattress was so old and saggy we did not sleep at all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCEANSIDE
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Appreciated not charging pet deposit for our Search and Rescue dogs. I reserved a king size bed, and got 2 doubles. We found adult fleas (our dog are on good flea prevention).
And a lot more wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARTINEZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Check-in was fine with service dog. Floors in our room were dangerously slick so we changed rooms. Checking out told we could never to have service dog in family suites again. This is against ADA law.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Address: 1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.