We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Ramada San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I read some bad reviews before booking a room but I decided to give it a try. My bf and I live in Santa Barbara and took a weekend trip to SLO. We wanted to stay close to downtown SLO so this looked like a good deal. I was excited to do some hot tubbing during our stay and soak up the sun by the pool, since the weather has been nice this December. I was very disappointed to see the pool full of leaves and disgustingly dirty. The hot tub was just as gross. I thought maybe the pool we were looking at was part of the building next door so I went to ask at the front desk. The desk attendant was rude and told me they did not have a pool or hot tub so I told him their website says otherwise which is one of the reasons we wanted to stay here. He said they close it during winter because the weather is "bad." Mmmm last time I checked this is California and when he said that it was 73 degrees outside. While we did get a good deal for the room, considering that there was no pool or hot tub and the room smelled like smoke even though it was a non-smoking room- it was definitely not worth it! Awful place to say the least. Also, the desk attendant was very rude, we asked where their ice machine was and he told us to go to the store... We stared at him in disbelief and then he smirked and said it was by the vending machine. Definitely don't appreciate the nasty attitude and bad service. Good thing we had plans to go out and spent minimal time at the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    46
    89
    103
    109
See reviews for
166
75
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Booked a room at this place. Was a very busy weekend so had to reserve something for Saturday night. Thursday evening about an hour past cancellation time had to cancel trip unfortunately for reasons out of my control. Although I'm sure they resold room would not cancel my reservation. Tried Ramada corporate, desk, local manager. Finally manager said he would issue me a credit to be used another night. Guess what he lied-no credit. Dishonest-avoid at all costs

Room Tip: avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I don't usually complain, but... Had a homeless guy sleeping in the bushes outside my door this afternoon. Now (3am) I am awake trying to keep a persistent, cat-sized RAT out of my kitchen!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I am not one to complain about many hotels, but this place was terrible. We couldn't wait to leave! The room was not clean, we were told we had a room and when we went to the room the door was open. We asked the maid who was nearby and she went in and checked to see if it was ready. We went in and found a dirty wash cloth in the shower with hairs on it. All the electrical plugs in the room were so old that anything you plugged in would fall out and not stay in the plug. The alarm clock was unplugged and I had to plug it in and found filth behind the dresser, pure disgust. The carpet was very dirty and soiled. The free breakfast was an average hotel breakfast and they did have free WIFI, but other than that we were not impressed...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Had a recently remodeled room. Flat screen TV. Good value. No complaints. Recognize it is not a Hampton Inn class of hotel so don't expect such.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were really worried because we had prepaid with hotels.com before we read the reviews, and we knew we were stuck. So, expecting the absolute worst, we were pleasantly surprised. Everything worked. It didn't smell bad. No bed-bugs (or ladies of the evening) in sight, and it was pretty clean (didn't look too closely to the corners, etc. though). The location was great, and the price was right. The furnishings were OLD & worn (threadbare even), but not stained or gross. The mattresses were hard & lumpy, and the towels were pretty scratchy, but what do you expect from the cheapest hotel we could find? (About half the price of the nearest Marriott). The front desk staff was polite, although we didn't have any special requests or problems. The "breakfast" was pre-packaged bagels & danishes from the grocery store, and the coffee definitely wasn't Starbucks, but it wasn't horrid. Overall, a good value for the two nights we were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We came to San Luis Obispo late evening and check out few B&B. All of them (even those worst looking or across the street), were much more expensive then Ramada. We had a clean room, big enough to have us with kids. Staff was extremely helpful and helped us to find a place to eat that night. In the morning we had breakfast we could really call "breakfast". There was enough bagels and muffins for all of us and quick refill. Nice experience by the road trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Address: 1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.