We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real nightmare!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Ramada San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #29 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Clovis, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real nightmare!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I don't usually complain, but... Had a homeless guy sleeping in the bushes outside my door this afternoon. Now (3am) I am awake trying to keep a persistent, cat-sized RAT out of my kitchen!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    66
    72
    85
See reviews for
119
59
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I am not one to complain about many hotels, but this place was terrible. We couldn't wait to leave! The room was not clean, we were told we had a room and when we went to the room the door was open. We asked the maid who was nearby and she went in and checked to see if it was ready. We went in and found a dirty wash cloth in the shower with hairs on it. All the electrical plugs in the room were so old that anything you plugged in would fall out and not stay in the plug. The alarm clock was unplugged and I had to plug it in and found filth behind the dresser, pure disgust. The carpet was very dirty and soiled. The free breakfast was an average hotel breakfast and they did have free WIFI, but other than that we were not impressed...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

Had a recently remodeled room. Flat screen TV. Good value. No complaints. Recognize it is not a Hampton Inn class of hotel so don't expect such.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were really worried because we had prepaid with hotels.com before we read the reviews, and we knew we were stuck. So, expecting the absolute worst, we were pleasantly surprised. Everything worked. It didn't smell bad. No bed-bugs (or ladies of the evening) in sight, and it was pretty clean (didn't look too closely to the corners, etc. though). The location was great, and the price was right. The furnishings were OLD & worn (threadbare even), but not stained or gross. The mattresses were hard & lumpy, and the towels were pretty scratchy, but what do you expect from the cheapest hotel we could find? (About half the price of the nearest Marriott). The front desk staff was polite, although we didn't have any special requests or problems. The "breakfast" was pre-packaged bagels & danishes from the grocery store, and the coffee definitely wasn't Starbucks, but it wasn't horrid. Overall, a good value for the two nights we were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We came to San Luis Obispo late evening and check out few B&B. All of them (even those worst looking or across the street), were much more expensive then Ramada. We had a clean room, big enough to have us with kids. Staff was extremely helpful and helped us to find a place to eat that night. In the morning we had breakfast we could really call "breakfast". There was enough bagels and muffins for all of us and quick refill. Nice experience by the road trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family and I were looking for a family suite. We have stayed many times at Ramada Inn's and had previously had positive experiences and economical. We had a VERY STALE, dusty room. The walls were dirty and doors dingy and did not close correctly. Air coniditioner did not work and we had to call 4 times to get the cable to work. All of us wore socks and they were FILTHY from walking on the carpet and tile in the rooms. We should not to swap cleaniliness and maintenance for cost effectiveness. On top of this we paid $270+ once taxes and extra adult costs were added.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

First the positives: everything was relatively clean enough & in working order. However, I was not impressed with the property. It was loud - you could hear everything that was happening in the parking lot. The free breakfast was extremely limited - only cold, sugar-laden muffins, danishes, and bagels, with juice & coffee - NO milk, NO protein and NO fruit of any kind. In the room, they provided shampoo and soap - no conditioner or lotion. So, if you're on a tight budget, and the price is right, then go for it. Otherwise, I would look for a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Luis Obispo

Address: 1000 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada San Luis Obispo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ramada San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Olive Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Ramada Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.