We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in SLO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Imperial, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weekend in SLO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is older and small, but staff were very helpful.
Rooms are older, but clean and well maintained.
Hotel is in need of a remodel in the NEAR future.
Very close to Downtown SLO
Trolley stops just in front of the hotel to take you downtown.
A little Steep in pricing for what you get.
Would RX Ebassy suites of Comfort Suites first if available

Room Tip: The rooms are all close to the Elevator and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. Not sure when you stayed with us be we just completed a renovation/refresh of all our guests’ rooms. They all have new beds, furniture, wall vinyl, art, as well as brand new bathrooms. We are very excited about the new look of our rooms and know that you will be. We hope we get a chance again to show you all the changes.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    85
    46
    26
    8
See reviews for
87
63
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The staff is exceptionally good. It is very well-managed property and a great place to stay if you are in town for business. My only complaint is their coffee. It is of poor qualify. A hotel of its caliber should be serving Starbucks or Peet's.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us and for your comments regarding our coffee. We are actually looking into switching it soon. We want to provide our guests with the best of amenities and coffee is right there at the top of the list. We hope to see you again soon and hopefully we can provide you with a new coffee to enjoy.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is very nice-newly renovated, very clean and in a great location. Rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Staff very friendly! Cookies were at the front desk which was a nice treat! The breakfast was good with a variety of cereals, breads, eggs etc.
I was really impressed with this hotel and would stay in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors as the bottom floors are used for pet friendly rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your “Great Night!” review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We will have fresh baked cookies ready for your return trip. We hope to see you again soon.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I checked in early around 2:30 in the afternoon. The front desk clerk was very helpful and courtesy. He told me he only had 2 rooms available. So I took the first room he offered which was room 101. I booked the room for 2 nights. He failed to tell me that it was the one of the worst rooms to stay in at the hotel Everything was great until about 5am when guest started using the elevator. Once the elevator became active, the entire room vibrates and rattles.
I felt this is definitely something the front desk clerk should have mentioned. There is no way no one has never complained about this before. I felt he should have mentioned at the price of $138 per night. The following night I mentioned the issue with desk clerk (Ashley). She was very much aware of the issue offered to decrease my nightly stay. I agreed because I didn't want to have to move my items to another room. Room was nice, Noise was horrible. Hospitality was helpful..

Room Tip: Do not allow them to assiign a room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo, thank you for completing our survey. We truly appreciate your feedback. It will help us improve.
We are sorry to hear about the noise issue you experienced with your room. I am glad our staff was helpful and responsive to you. I will definitely take a look at this room and determine if something can be corrected so no other guests have the same experience. We appreciate feedback from guests like yourself and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.
I hope we get the chance to have you as our guest again. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to discuss your stay. I look forward to hearing from you.

James Davison
General Manager
805-544-8600
jdavison@hisanluisobispo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-sea
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Probably the best Holiday Express Inn we have used whilst touring in California. Excellent welcome from all reception staff but especially Alex who should be awarded 'employee of the month' status for her immediate help and assistance in finding First Aid supplies for a minor injury. The hotel has been refurbished and the quality of the furnishings, decoration and furniture was exceptionally good. The beds were very comfortable and the choice of firm or soft pillows was a great idea. Everything was spotlessly clean. Elevator access to all floors. Breakfast included crispy bacon and cheese omelettes which made a nice change. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your "Exceptionally Good" review. From all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express, we truly appreciate your time to review us. I will let Alex know of her unofficial status of employee of the month. She will be very happy to hear about this review. We look forward to having you as our guest again in our newly renovated rooms.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

ok, It is a Holiday Inn Express, Why the almost $400 per night per room? Price gouging to the extreme! Normally this place is a $129 a night. This " family chain" takes advantage of a family event. Never again!

Room Tip: Very noisy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us. We appreciate and learn from each of our guests. We understand your concern about our rates on certain high-demand weekends. Cal Poly graduation weekend is one of those weekends and our rates are actually lower than most of the hotels in this area. We pride ourselves in offering competitive prices and giving our guests the best value. I hope we get the opportunity to have you as a guest again in our newly renovated rooms. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to discuss your stay with us. Thank you.

James Davison
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express-San Luis Obispo
805-544-8600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had such a wonderful experience here on NYE, we decided to stay here again. Consistency in customer service, cleanliness, quality, is something all hotels should strive for. This place exceeded our expectations again by their consistency. Check-in was handled expeditiously by the great front desk staff. Always nice to hear the words, "Welcome back"! Our room was clean and comfortable. Wifi had a strong signal and the TV channel selections were great. The morning breakfast was awesome with a lot of variety. All in all another memorable stay! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We appreciate all of our return guests. We love welcoming you back and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your wonderful review.

James Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Address: 1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.