We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value in SLO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice value in SLO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I thought the hotel was in a great location, right off the freeway. Clean rooms, but somewhat dark. There needs to be more lighting. My main gripe was that they did not replace the breakfast food. Most hotels make sure that the breakfast foods are replenished until the cutoff time. This one was out off the pancake mix, the bacon, and some of the cereal well before 9:30. That was pretty disappointing. Other than that it is a really nice hotel with a beautiful Craftsman style common area. Bonus: great cookies at check in baked fresh daily.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXSLOGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear CKelWhit,

Thank you for staying with us again and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations with our Breakfast. Rest assured that your comments about the Bbreakfst will be reviewed by our team and we take actions accordingly.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Joel Koper
General Manager - Holiday Inn Express - San LuisObispo
805-542-9754
jkoper@hisanluisobispo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    76
    43
    26
    8
See reviews for
76
58
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A very good hotel. The staff is excellent and accommodating. They will try very hard to make your demands happen. My family has stayed at this hotel many times over the last 4 years...visiting our daughter at Cal Poly, SLO. It has always been enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of the campus (at least for me!...about a mile up the road) and very close to downtown. The downtown shuttle bus stops right in front of the hotel. For exercise in the morning, I head out of the hotel, turn right or left and jog around the beautiful neighborhoods. When the wild stallion are in their pasture nearby, I will stop to give them a little pat or a little grass. There is a small, clean exercise room but I prefer the outdoors. The lobby and grand dining room are very spacious and inviting. You can enjoy a good complimentary breakfast and maybe meet other Cal Poly folks. This hotel is very popular so book early if you want a chance at a room...especially if your visit coincides with any major Cal Poly functions like the start of the school year or graduation. Nonetheless, I have ALWAYS found space and the staff have always been accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool/hot tub are quieter although they get a better breeze. We prefer the 2nd or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney Bc Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed here for 7 nights and it was truly wonderful. Everything was perfect, the staff were truly amazing so helpful in so many ways. Lauren at the Front Desk was outstanding as was the manager.The comp breakfasts were fine (something for everybody).



We used Enterprise Rental on Broad Street, they picked us up and returned us to our hotel and even let us choose what car we wanted, you cannot beat that for service.









Thank you for making our stay in San Luis Obispo so memorable.

Thank you again Expedia for all your help with our reservation (that is why we always use yo

Anita and Kenny.
Vancouver Island
Canada..

Room Tip: They are all nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

this hotel needs a makeover, everything is dated. service from staff pleasant and helpful, breakfast typical for hie, but I notice when bananas were. out they weren't replaced forbsome time. rooms are not for the business traveller, at least not from.my point of view. Round table, with few ac outlets. Fitness room: small, sit downn bike straps broken, no cleaning wipes, no weights, weighing scale situated in.the bathroom, which is also in.the fitness room. walls need repainting or at least repaired. Ss I say not the best and not the worst

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we toured the Cal Poly campus. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. The beds were comfortable as were the pillows. The linens on the beds were fine but not as high quality as I was expecting.

The location is on the same street at many hotels which are all within a mile or so from downtown and the campus. We were impressed with the decor of the hotel. It looks like its been recently remodeled. The rooms look like that as well but the bathrooms were a surprise. Although they were all clean it seemed that they hadn't been updated. Not that big a deal but surprising since the rest is all so nice.

The breakfast was fine, nothing special. They had the fun pancake machine but they were out of syrup. The had yogurt, cereal, hardboiled eggs, bagels and all the usual. There seemed to be just enough tables for the guests and there was enough room to walk around. They had free newspapers everywhere which was really nice.

The front desk folks were fine and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed one night when visiting Cal Poly with our son. This turned out to be a fine place to stay and they offered a breakfast as well. We drove the short distance to town and had dinner and finished our night off in the hot tub. Close to the Cal Poly campus, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Expensive for the kind of hotel service and location.
It is just a place to spend a night, no kitchen / even restaurants closeby. We had to drive for 10 mins to get water for the night. Best if you stay near the main street (near the mission) at SLO.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXSLOGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear TarunkJain,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your last trip to San Luis Obispo. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly because we actually do have many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We also vending machines with various snacks and drinks. The hotel is located only minutes away from downtown with many more shops, restaurants, and local entertainment for our guests to enjoy. I look forward to sharing this information with you.

Thank you,

Joel Koper
General Manager
805-544-8600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Address: 1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.