We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down, but cozy and friendly.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A bit run down, but cozy and friendly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The front desk was warm and welcoming with their newly remodeled reception area. As you enter your room you discover that the remodel skipped the guest rooms. Squeeky floors and a 1970's feel blast you into the past.

I might try staying elsewhere. The breakfast absolutely failed to meet any expectations and the maids seem to campout in the halls waiting for you to checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    86
    46
    26
    8
See reviews for
87
64
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We decided to stop over at San Luis Obispo on our way to San Francisco. We contemplated booking a room at the only Holiday Inn Express in town, but took our chances and arrived late evening at the hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly. We negotiated a great deal on the room price and got an excellent deal that included the breakfast. Being Priority Club members we also got a goodie bag, which had a couple of bottles of juice and a bag of crisps and sweeties.

The room was clean and comfortable, although very basic, typical of any Holiday Inn Express rooms. WiFi was free in the bedrooms, which was an excellent deal. The lady at the front desk provided us with useful information about the local events and places to eat around. One of her dining suggestions was a creek side restaurant named Novo, excellent food and great romantic atmosphere, not to miss if u are planing to have dinner in town.

We were there on a Thursday night, which is the weeknight for the famous Farmers Market in town, and there was a shuttle bus that took us downtown for a dollar, which we boarded from right outside the hotel. The market was awesome and worth a visit.

We had a comfortable stay in San Luis Obispo and will happily stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visit our son at calpoly about 3-4 times a year and we always take our golden retriever Murphy. This trip was last minute and we could not find a dog friendly hotel until we called Holiday Inn. We were treated very special from the initial phone call to our meeting with Joel and our breakfast and departure. Murphy had a very comfortable stay and was treated very nice by all the staff. We will make Holiday Inn SLO our first choice for all our future stays. Thank you, Heloise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I checked in at 9pm on a weeknight with a very friendly front desk person. The door for the first room they gave me wouldn't open. On the second attempt at getting me a room, the door opened, but imagine my surprise to find a pair of tennis shoes and a suitcase. Thank god the occupant was not there. I finally could get into an unoccupied room on the third try...which was fine, until the light started flickering and eventually went out. I also tried to get a wake-up call for my early business meeting, only to find the phone ringing and ringing with no one to take my request. Needless to say, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickerson, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here while in town on business. Consistent with other Holiday Inn Express Hotels. Easy to get a government rate room within per diem rate. Biscuits for biscuits and gravy were a bit small and not as flaky as I've had at other ones, but overall nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo as a night stop over on our way to San Francisco, The staff are really friendly and the room was nice but the bathroom was really old fashioned, it was a little bit overpriced but it was a nice relaxing stop over.

Also San Luis Obispo is a nice little town waiting to be explored.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the appearance of the hotel was nice. its one of the nicer looking hotels in san luis obispo. my room was just okay and did not reflect how nice the lobby and outside of the hotel was. the bed was clean and comfortable. the reason i would not stay here again is because i was charged $219 for one night. this is utterly obsurd....a holiday inn should not cost this much. i feel like i was totally ripped off and taken advantage of by being charged so much. they told me that the whole city was booked up, so i had to stay there...after a long drive, i could not drive any more. this is a $99 a night hotel room, not $200+!!!

Room Tip: call ahead of time to see how much the room will cost...don't get ripped off like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Address: 1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.