We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice relaxing stop over.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A nice relaxing stop over.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in San Luis Obispo as a night stop over on our way to San Francisco, The staff are really friendly and the room was nice but the bathroom was really old fashioned, it was a little bit overpriced but it was a nice relaxing stop over.

Also San Luis Obispo is a nice little town waiting to be explored.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    75
    43
    26
    8
See reviews for
77
58
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the appearance of the hotel was nice. its one of the nicer looking hotels in san luis obispo. my room was just okay and did not reflect how nice the lobby and outside of the hotel was. the bed was clean and comfortable. the reason i would not stay here again is because i was charged $219 for one night. this is utterly obsurd....a holiday inn should not cost this much. i feel like i was totally ripped off and taken advantage of by being charged so much. they told me that the whole city was booked up, so i had to stay there...after a long drive, i could not drive any more. this is a $99 a night hotel room, not $200+!!!

Room Tip: call ahead of time to see how much the room will cost...don't get ripped off like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I thought it was long gone but Ian, who i think was the evening manager, blew me away with his fantastic service! Wow! I never knew a front desk clerk could be so warm and honestly welcoming and thankful that I was there. I had my share of travel issues since i had no reservation setup but he very quickly and in a very friendly way made sure I had everything I needed. I felt bad because I was a bit tired and crabby at the time but he really tried to reassure me he would have me relaxed and in a comfortable room soon. It was almost too much but darn it if I didn't soak it all up and enjoy the service. I couldn't work the AC at about 10:30pm and he ever so smoothly talked me through it all the while offering to come and check it personally (by the way, there was nothing wrong with it, just me). I needed an extra blanket and he was there faster than i could make it from the phone to the door! Seriously why can't every hotel I stay at have someone that genuinely seems to care about the people in their hotel? I know this review is long but if you get a chance to come to SLO as they call it, stay here. The rooms are nice and they match the staff!

Room Tip: I liked to room Ian got me overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stay here with my wife quite often. Noticing some of the bad reviews I have to say this hotel is amazing! Starting with their super-friendly staff that is both knowledgable and accomodating to your every need, they seem to care about every guest no matter how upset they get or if they are getting yelled at in their face. All places have their random issues that come up. For any time I've had a minor issue, that staff jumps right on it and we are met with gracious humilty, understanding, prompt resolve, and compensation if necessary. This is a hotel you can count on when you reach out for their help. Its always worth the price and you can't beat having Ian as the night manager.

Room Tip: Avoid the GM
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here two nights found the hotel clean and the rooms a good size, staff very helpfull a great irish pub across the road from the hotel, with godd food and beer. found Downtown quaint but parking not very good for longstay. Ideal for exploring the great little resorts and places along route one. Would deafinately stay here again breakfast pretty average though.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The room was a nice size. Looked like it had been remodeled. Same for the bathroom. It had 2 sinks. One inside the bathroom and one just outside of it. Several restaurants within walking distance. Downtown is just a few minutes drive. Hotel had a good breakfast and nice laundry facility. Cute town. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales,UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great location, everything within walking distance. Very helpful staff on the reception desk. The room was clean and tidy. I wanted to see a part of America that hasn't been overly commercialised during our two week holiday in the USA and this was it for me, I fell in love with San Luis Obispo, the shops, the restaurants, the whole package at San Luis was just great for me.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Address: 1800 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.