We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1895 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First time here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ok place, room a little musty, cramped bathroom, free breakfast pretty much the same as other Best Western's I've stayed at. Its' a ways from downtown, too far to walk. Looks like a couple of good places to eat within walking distance. We had dinner across down though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The Best Western Plus at Somerset Inn offers one of the best value propositions in San Luis Obispo and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    89
    59
    32
    24
See reviews for
88
87
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We reserved three nights for a king size, non-smoking bedroom. And it also came with FREE bass that vibrated through our walls from Pappy's McGregor's restaurant on a Saturday night. Best Western gave us RM 225, second floor, right at the front of the establishment. Pappy's staff woke us up several times when they haphazardly dumped empty beer bottles into their garbage container out in the back alley. I realized that we were exactly right behind this pub! On Sunday and weekday nights, it's much calmer at this hotel, but this didn't deter the loud recycling of beer bottles that gets put in the trash at midnight or early mornings. This is no fault of the owners at this hotel, but I would say if you are interested in staying at this venue, please avoid ROOM 225!

Breakfast was mediocre at best: small yogurt, boiled eggs, white, wheat slices of bread, english muffins, miniature muffins and artificial flavoured scones, a variety of sugar inducing coma cereals, a waffle maker, and fresh fruit. Please skip the coffee here; it's horrific! I think that the asian women who guards/replenishes the breakfast area is a bit clueless and gets in the way of letting guests get to their morning meals. I don't care if the yogurt containers are not stacked up nicely. Please get out of the way when you see the hotel guests standing there waiting for you to move, and you don't have to wait for the very last drop of coffee is used up, because it gets cold! And it doesn't hurt to greet your guests with a smile and say, "Good Morning."

Room Tip: If you are extremely tired or a light sleeper, stay away from ROOM 225! It's right up against P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for one night, during a trip going down the California highway 1.
Being exhausted from the long day's trip, we were welcomed with a very comfortable room and bed. Breakfast was also good, with plenty of options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and are delighted that your stay was comfortable.. We thank you for your feedback, do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a 1970's built motel that has been refurbished a couple of times, which is indicative of the inconsistencies in the Best Western brand. It is at the north end of town, so it is limited on walk ability to things, though there is an excellent Mexican restaurant a few blocks away!
The room was a good size, the beds had 5 pillows, and the little refrigerator was appreciated. We used a rewards free night to stay, so it was fine for the one night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

we stayed here last year a few times was great. Now we stayed here this passed weekend asked for nicole some other guy said she was not here. we checked in. he told us wrong directions for room. then get to room they are not the same housekeeping cause was not the same standards when you are use to something. Then pool was dirty. asked for discount for next door resturant said what is that. Staff was not helpful at all! i hope to try it again in a few months when we come backl and things have change. Miss Nicole!

Room Tip: upstaires office side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Please accept our apologies for failing to deliver the standard of services we set for ourselves. We have addressed this with our front desk associates and ensured that the housekeeping standards are strictly adhered to. We appreciate your patronage and hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I, along with our teenage daughter stayed a night on our way from SFO to LA. The accommodation was very comfortable with all you need. We especially liked the friendliness of the staff and the great self serve breakfast. We had a bottom floor room(two floors) which made it easy to lug bags in, and your car was outside your door.
We will definitely stay again for longer next time as the area has a lot to offer the traveller. Apologise for the lateness of this post.

Room Tip: Bottom floor room is good if you need to move luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Somerset Inn and for your time to write a review. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable. We have relayed your compliments to the staff. Visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#8 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn

Address: 1895 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.