We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1895 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    47
    25
    21
See reviews for
68
66
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel is in a great location - you can walk to downtown San Luis Obispo with lots of shops and restaurants. Has large pool, unfortunately was not heated & a bit chilly but the hot tub was great. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not. The beautiful setting nestled in the San Luis hills was picturesque - you could eat breakfast next to the hotel lobby and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are glad that your overall stay was pleasant. We will definitely address your concerns and improve in those areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The rooms are grand, clean and tidy, nothing special. It is a 15minute walk from the main street with bars and restaurants. It is located on Monterey St and there are a lot of other options such as a Travelodge, Comfort Inn and some more next to this hotel so I would suggest researching these and staying there instead. It was the 6th hotel we stayed in on our trip (including a Days Inn and a Super 8) and the bad service we got was the only negative experience we had in any of the hotels. The man behind reception couldn't work the system and then the lady came out to help and as a result of not being able to take our pre-paid accommodation voucher, proceeded to give out about the company, tell me she wasn't in the mood for having to deal with it and that I had two options, cancel my reservation (which I had paid for) or pay again and try to get the money back off the agent I booked it with! Not a nice option to be given at 7pm of a Saturday night, felt we had no choice and she didn't care. The US is known for its excellent customer service so this place was a serious come down. I know it's hard to pick a hotel and this is a good source to get peoples feedback so overall the room was fine, location okay but with so many options on the same street I'd go somewhere else for the service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I want to thank the staff at this hotel for a great stay. At breakfast, the woman attending the food bar was wonderful and made me feel so welcome as did the cleaning staff and front desk. The week I was there, it was nice and quiet so got much needed rest after work. Very close to downtown and excellent food places. For the price and service, I will only stay at this hotel when working in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not your usual Best Western, more of a converted old motel.
Positives: The linen was clean and nice quality and the mattress was very comfortable. Odd small square pillows which were comfortable nonetheless.
Negatives: Tiny awkward sink in bathroom, big stain in carpet 3 feet inside door, old chair with some stuffing protruding through seat, squeaking floorboards when upstairs occupant walked around, loud squeaking door from next door neighbors who seemed to come and go a lot, small older tv with bad sound quality. One mile walk to downtown SLO.
To be fair, attempts have been made to maintain this property, but its age shows. I would rate it 3 stars if it cost $75 a night, which I think would be a more appropriate price for the room and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations and we thank you for your feedback. We see that most of the issues that did not match up to your satisfaction have to do with the room interiors and we wish to inform you that we are currently in the process of upgrading our room offerings. At Best Western Plus, it is our constant endeavour to give our guests a memorable experience and we hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn

Address: 1895 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.