We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, free breakfast, near downtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1895 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value, free breakfast, near downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

There are a variety of hotels within walking distance from downtown SLO, but this was among the cheapest we found. The size and cleanliness of the rooms was above average, and checkin was quick 'n' easy. Throw in a free breakfast & quiet surroundings, and this Best Western Plus is very hard to beat (for this area & price-range).

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms are probably safer, since they don't have ground-level entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing us and for taking time to send us your appreciative feedback. We would be delighted to welcome you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    35
    22
    19
See reviews for
63
54
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I thought the room was pretty average but the price was really reasonable. It is easy walking distance to downtown. It needs a little updating but I would recommend it to someone who didn't have a lot of money to spend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. We are currently upgrading our room offerings and facilities and would love to serve you during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very nice rooms, updated, clean and good traveler breakfast. Good shower! We were in such a rush we left our pillows. We called and said we would be passing through on our return five days later and could they hold them. Very cheerfully they complied. Nice stay, nice people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
It was wonderful serving you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks very much for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I and my sister and her husband had reserved two rooms. We were in SLO for a wedding. When my sister arrived they had their dog with them. They were told that no dogs were allowed. Nicole was at the registration desk and immediately went to work. She called all the places that she knew were "pet friendly". There were no vacancies at those places. Nicole kept trying and finally found a place that was not pet friendly, but would make an exception and take their dog. Nicole really saved the day! Give her a raise!!!
Suggestion: The TV in our room was bad. You need to upgrade them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks very much for your feedback, we are happy to note that you found our staff helpful and attentive. We would like to inform you that we are upgrading our televisions within the next few weeks and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay. Our 2 queen room was clean and very spacious. Nice continental breakfast with waffle maker, hot eggs and hot sausage. Had a blast in the pool but the one negative on our stay was the broken hot tub, which we had been looking forward to on a cool night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
While we are glad you had enjoyed your stay with us, we wish to extend our apologies on account of the broken hot tub. We are in the process of fixing and upgrading our current offerings. At Best Western Plus, we strive to exceed customer satisfaction and we hope you would give us another opportunity to serve us in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Customer Service was awesome! People you can actually joke with who laugh and talk to you. They don't treat you like another rented room!! The breakfast is great, the pool and spa are great. The carpet and TVs could be updated but my family and I would definitely go back. Great places to eat and close to downtown!!! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are absolutely pleased to note that you found our staff friendly and made you felt quite at home. As for the carpet and TV, we wish to inform you that we are in the process of sprucing up our rooms with newer and upgraded interiors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wonderful stay. Easy walk to restaurants and downtown destinations.
Super clean rooms, quiet, and comfy beds.
I stayed on my way down to southern CA and again a few days later on my way back to SF.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgm99, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we would like to thank you for encouraging us with your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn

Address: 1895 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Somerset Hotel San Luis Obispo
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Somerset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.