We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Great Service, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Cuesta Inn to your Saves list
La Cuesta Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Clean, Great Service, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Room was terrific, bed was extremely comfortable and property was super-clean. But the staff was the best. Helpful, always friendly, seemed like an extremely happy bunch. Wife and I stayed here on our way to San Fran, and are changing plans this summer so we can go back for a longer visit. We had a great time at the La Questa

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flybaby38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
la verne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We were staying for a music performance at the cal poly, so this hotel was exactly what we needed. Simple, comfortable, practically next door to the school, with several restaurants within a short drive's distance. the staff was polite and pleasant, the rooms were clean and included a good sized tv, dvd player (with free dvd rentals from the front desk. good movies too), an ihome, very comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. There was a microwave available downstairs, and the continental breakfast was more than what we expected. i would recommend this hotel above all others while staying in San Luis Obispo

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magichowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Have to say, this was a most fortuitous choice. The wife and I normally stay at Holiday Inn Express when we travel around--hey, we love the breakfast and the consistency between hotels--but we could not get in over in San Luis Obispo.

Our gain!

The hotel is charming and cozy--and so close to everything we needed. From the shops to the food choices...they are all within walking distance. What did if for me and wife, however, is the customer service we received during our stay.

Simply put: outstanding!

The desk clerk, and I have forgotten her name, was full of information about the surrounding area--and promulgated a sense of caring about our evening out. Made our reservations, gave a detailed walking map, gave directions to the winery, and even greeted us when we came back later that night. Impressive.

Rooms themselves are clean and presentable--and I found the breakfast to be quite filling.

And yes: my wife and I will be returning here in the summer on our trip over to San Francisco. It's really quite perfect for a 1 or 2 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodyaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean,VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I have stayed at the La Cuesta a dozen times in the last year and find it one of the best values in the area. I am always received with a warm smile, given a spacious room and feel the friendliness of the staff the entire time I am there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sothoron79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I booked this hotel via the internet and didn't know what to expect. From the courteous oung lady that checked me in to the attentive woman responsible for the free breakfast I found people that seemed to enjoy their job. That speaks highly (and loudly) for any business, but particularly for one in the hospitality business. The hotel itself was very clean and priced well for the product. I also found the location a plus. Access to the highlway and the fact that downtown and the university were literally within walking distance was a huge bonus for me. I recommend this hotel for the one night guest passing through the area as well as the guest wanting to spend a week or more exploring this wondeful part of the state.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sandman4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MENLO PARK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

This place is in a good location, right off the highway and a healthy walking distance to downtown. Our room, though near the elevator, was pretty quiet. The women at the front desk were friendly and competent (we were allowed to check into our room almost 3 hours early). Pluses include a decent selection of movie rentals to watch in your room and the room had an iPod docking station and DVD player, both of which were appreciated since it rained most of the weekend putting the kabosh on most of our plans. Our room also had a nice little patio up in the pinetrees which would have been nice to enjoy if the weather were better. They also had all- day complimentary coffee/drinks, afternoon tea (why not leave the tea bags out all day, is my question, however...) and a continental breakfast. If you are vegetarian, you'll do fine but vegans might have to work a little harder to find something to eat. I have to be honest however and say though it was a decent place overall, I didn't find it a particular value at about $170 night w/ tax during the winter. Also, the pool and spa were closed and it would have been nice to been told that when making the reservation.

Here is the main thing what I can't get past though. I noticed in the light of the morning, that our room had what looked like high velocity blood splatter on the ceiling over the bed, in the hallway and on the bathroom door. When we checked out I informed the woman at the desk who seemed mortified but it really made me feel like sitting in a tub of Lysol while sipping a vancomycin martini when I got home.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

This hotel is tucked away at the top of Monterey street, so it's a long walk to downtown, but if you have a car then no problem. Friendly staff, good breakfast considering the reasonable cost. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyLTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing