We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Cuesta Inn to your Saves list
La Cuesta Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Egaa, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This motel is an ideal place to stay on trips between L.A. and San Fran for those of us that prefer a break along the way. The staff is effective, the rooms are large and clean, and the pool area is delightful. The main street in the nearby city of San Luis Obispo has lots of shops, bars and restaurants, along with the awesome / disgusting bubblegum alley.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    108
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
90
90
25
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I would stay again. I stayed on the 3rd floor and the room had two queen beds with nice pillows and confortable mattresses. Water pressure was okay and the toiletries were good. My only concern with this room was that the air conditioner didn't put out enough cool air. Luckily I had brought a small desktop fan and that helped circulate the air.

The continental breakfast was okay but it would have been nice to have something like hot eggs or some meat product. The waffle maker made beautiful small waffles.

The pool and spa looked lovely but I never had time to use either since I drove to the ocean each night as it was only 15-20 minutes away.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor seemed nice and quiet during my stay. I did notice that some rooms had balconies and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I go to SLO every 5 weeks or so to see my daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter. Every time I am greeted with hospitality and great service. Jacob has given me exceptional customer service and so have the other front desk people. I have been upgraded to a better room when available. They have renovated the breakfast area and upgraded the lobby. I feel safe and the room is clean, comfortable, and furnishings are nice too. I stay here EVERY TIME I visit.

Room Tip: I always like to be on the upper floors but every room is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I certainly enjoyed our stay at La Cuesta Inn. The staff was very friendly and we felt welcomed from the moment we checked in. Our room was clean and neat. We had a restful sleep and an overall great experience.

If we ever go back to San Luis Obispo i would most definitely stay at La Cuesta Inn again!
I just wish there would be other city locations of this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The bed was very comfortable and the hot tub and pool makes it ice to.dip in after check in and before dinner.
It is at the end of town so it is quiet but still close to a few restaurants.
While we were there th hotel lobby was going through minor renovations so we got my breakfast in our room, which was nice. We sat in the balcony overlooking the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I've been coming to La Cuesta Inn for about 5 years now. Mostly for pleasure, but occasional business. I really like the renovations, very warm and welcoming. What keeps me coming back though is the service. In particular, Jacob is fantastic. Always friendly and helpful, yet professional. Nice touch to be greeted by name after a 4 hour drive! Great breakfast, love the cookies and tea in the afternoon. As a frequent guest, it would be nice to see some sort of "points" program. Looking forward to being back Memorial Day weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were not informed about the Renovations when we booked so we were greeted by a lobby that was out of order and smelling very strongly of paint. The toilet in our room blocked very easily and as it was late at night we needed a change of room. The staff arranged this immediately without any problem which we appreciated. However the message about our change of room was not communicated to the providers of breakfast ( delivered to our room because the lobby was out of order) so that arrived half an hour late , nor apparently to the team that cleaned the room, as that was not cleaned. For our second morning the lobby was back in action . The breakfast was simple but ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuesta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.