We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret of SLO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Cuesta Inn to your Saves list
La Cuesta Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret of SLO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We travel to SLO every year at least once. We always stay at La Cuesta Inn for the great value. It is a very well kept hotel with excellent room amenities. All staff has always been friendly and professional. I particularly want to commend the staff on my most recent stay for adjusting the price of my room to the special price that through a booking error was not recorded at the room reservation. Thanks again for your courteous service and consideration.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dirtman140,

Thank you for the five star review! It is our pleasure to ensure that our valued guests like yourself leave satisfied. Perhaps we will see you again sooner than next year!

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    114
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
100
93
25
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent 4 nights at La Cuesta for SLO marathon. First floor room was surprisingly private at back/end of hotel, but a little dark and cool/damp? Towels never dried so we got fresh fluffy ones each day. Microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker but not too much space for prep. Fantastic bed and pillows. Extra sink outside bathroom which was handy. Nice pool and hot tub area that is private behind vine-covered walls. Simple breakfast avail in lobby area, and yummy cookies & iced tea each afternoon - nice touch. Very good service - manager offered us free golf round at an area course when he saw our clubs, and another gave us a discount voucher at nearby restaurant. La Cuesta seems to be one of the newest nicest hotels in a town filled with dated, tired motel-type accommodation. Handy location just off 101. We were very happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Sharon M,
Thank you for the review!
We're ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope you enjoyed your rounds of golf just as much -- Thanks again for the great review! We will surely see you next time.

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coxsackie, Ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We usually stay in the hotel chains because of points towards free tickets, however, twice we have stayed here when in SLO and it was a lovely stay both times. The rooms are wonderful, the pool and hot tub very cozy and relaxing. The breakfast is fine. We enjoyed it very much. It's too bad that the rates have gone beyond our affordability this year, but it is an excellent place to stay while in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
mom2cjnk,
Thank you for the review! We're glad that you've stayed with us several times already and we hope that you keep coming back - our rates are seasonal and do fluctuate depending on the demand, so I certainly hope that you are able to get the rate you're looking for next time!

Thank you again for the review,

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

just spent several days in slo. the la cuesta provided a comfortable base at a very reasonable price. the staff were very friendly and eager to be helpful. the room was good sized, well maintained and quiet. the occasional scent of cleanser in the public spaces was a little offputting but not a real problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
jklugmn,

Thanks for getting online and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community! We are pleased to know that you are satisfied, our staff strives to be as helpful as possible. We look forward to your next stay, thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed at La Cuesta Inn for one night between wine tasting in Paso and hanging in SLO. The hotel is located right off the 101, very convenient location for traveling. I booked the reservation online and had no issues checking in. The room was clean and just as I requested, faced away from the freeway. Wifi was complimentary, always a bonus. The continental breakfast was a nice.

I'm coming back to SLO in a couple of month and will book the hotel again for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
sadakodo,

Thanks for sharing! If you come back to the area for wine tasting, we do have great wine tasting packages at affordable prices. All in all we're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again some time!

Thanks again!
Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed a long weekend in SLO, at the La Cuesta Inn across from the Apple Farm. Everything went well. No issues with reservations, no issues with the room, and no issues with noise. We had a view of the pool from the balcony. Parking was not a problem. The room was clean and nicely maintained. In-room wireless worked flawlessly. The shower got hot quickly, and neither the pressure nor temperature varied from where I set it. Staff is friendly and helpful.

I have no complaints about this place at all, and will definitely stay here again when I'm in SLO.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Queasy-Modo,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to know that your stay went well. We look forward to seeing you next trip to SLO!

Thank you again for the review
Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a frequent traveler to SLO, I have stayed in many of the Monterey St. hotels. La Cuesta Inn exceeded my expectations and was actually better than other, more pricey hotels (Comfort Inn, Quality Suites, Holiday Inn Express).

The rooms were updated, comfortable, spacious, and clean. The lobby had a decent breakfast and tasty coffee throughout the day. The staff was friendly and courtous. All in all, we had a great expierence and thought it was a better stay than the surrounding hotels.

The place has a pool... did not use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
KiddTravel,

We are absolutely delighted to have earned such a great review from you. Thank you! We strive to offer an unparalleled value and unsurpassed level of service in comparison to the competition. Perhaps during your next stay you'll be able to use our pool, summer is coming after all!

Thanks again for the review
Sincerely,

Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
2.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuesta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.