We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for SLO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuesta Inn

Save Saved
You added La Cuesta Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
N California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value for SLO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at La Cuesta recently and found it quite acceptable for our purpose. It is of somewhat more modern construction than some of the older motels in the area, and our room was clean and comfortable. It is right by the freeway, so many of the little balconies aren't really that useful due to noise. Soundproofing was reasonably good, but we left the fan on to give some white noise at night. Breakfast was about average for the included continental style; the second day we made a run down to Splash bakery to supplement the breakfast with some fresh pastries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
curmudgeon99,
Thank you for the review! We're glad that you found La Cuesta Inn to be a good value. Looking forward to your next stay!

Thanks again!
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    87
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
70
77
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great little hotel! This is our favorite hotel in San Luis Obispo. The rooms are modern, spacious and always spotless when we arrive. The additional counter with sink just outside of the bathroom is also another convenience. The balconies are nice too. We have always found the staff to be friendly and very helpful if we ever needed anything. They serve a nice breakfast and have cookies and coffee in the afternoons as well. They even have free movies in the lobby that you can borrow and take to your room. It's walking distance to some great local restaurants as well. The price is great for this very cute hotel. We have already stayed here several times and plan to return soon! This is our favorite hotel in San Luis Obispo! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you Leila525 for your positive feedback, We look forward to seeing you again here at La Cuesta Inn!

Best Regards,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a girls trip and were looking for something inexpensive for a single night. We were given keys to a dirty room with blankets and pillows all over, obviously completely untouched. We went down to complain and didn't receive a single apology, just moved us to a different room. We decided to stay because it was too late to find anything else and had a fine night. The continental breakfast is nothing special and then when we checked out, we were charged MORE than what we were told the night before and were given NO compensation for the dirty room. Very unprofessional and not a place I will stay again. Very unfriendly staff. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Taylor M,
Thank you for your sharing your experience and feedback. I am familiar with this situation. There was in fact a mix-up with the rooms, we were under the impression that you were satisfied after calling and speaking to you to ensure you were happy with your upgraded accommodations. I did reduce your room rate that evening, perhaps it was not apparent on the receipt. There has been an attempt to reach out to the email address left on your reservation however we're not sure you've received the message, I ask that you contact me at the hotel by phone or by email (andrew@altamonthotels.com) to ensure your billing is accurate, I will be more than happy to send you a copy of the receipt and fix anything you feel is incorrect!

Thank you again for expressing your concern in your review, we certainly hope to hear from you so we can make right any error.

Sincerely,
Andrew. A Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nothing special, noisy room due to plumbing an unknown buzzing. Needs to be renovated in public areas. No restaurant on premises, but Apple Farm across street. Not horrible for the money but will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
PVBuddy,

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is important to us and other travelers like yourself. We take comments and reviews seriously and investigate each individually to ensure it does not happen again. Our rooms are generally quiet with the double-pane windows & concrete walls, so we can generally narrow down and fix most noise related issues. As of right now, we have begun the renovation process starting with our pool and jacuzzi area, we hope to move on to other public areas very soon!

I'd like to get in contact with you regarding your comments so we can gather a little more information about the room you were in. Please contact me at andrew@altamonthotels.com, I'm eager to speak with you.

Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Yes it's on a busy intersection and though the glazing stops a great deal of noise, there is still traffic noise - but that's about the only minus I can think of. The room was spotless, spacious and comfortable and the balcony a bonus - even on a December night! The bathroom has a separate sink outside which would be a boon for two or more guests and the toiletries lovely.

Breakfast was good though the small breakfast room was packed and couldn't really handle the volume of guests when I stayed. Another nice touch is the cookies, muffins and coffee offered - free - in the lobby in the afternoons.
SLO is a fab little town and this is a great little hotel. I just hope I'll be able to visit again; for a longer stay, sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Gardener01,
We wish you stayed with us longer as well! Thank you for your positive review, I do see as a top contributor you know your hotels and we're honored to earn your "5 out of 5"!
We hope you come and stay again too for a longer duration and enjoy La Cuesta Inn just as much next time! Thank you again for the review, we greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It isn't any one thing that makes La Cuesta Inn great, but the synergy of thoughtful touches. My wife and I stayed here on a post-Christmas get-away (our present to each other). We picked the Inn from its web site (really well done, by the way) and from what I remembered of SLO, back when I used to come up frequently on business. We had one of their deals (stay three nights, pay for two), so the price for our stay was really reasonable.

The staff is superb. Most are fairly young (20s), but are so professional and competent and such a joy to work with; they could give seminars to other hotels on how to treat guests. Our room was top floor, front; it had a private balcony, giving a superb view of the nearby mountains. Got to sip coffee while watching the clouds come in over the hills; also watched the hawks soaring. Peaceful.

The room was large, immaculate, and well laid out (looked like the picture on their home page); the bed was large and comfortable. Amenities included coffee mugs--the heavy, ceramic ones that you find sometimes in diners, and cork coasters. Glasses were--glass! Coffee maker was the full-pot kind, not the annoying (and probably energy inefficient) cup-at-a-time units some hotels are so fond of. The tea was Tazo, same brand Starbucks sells. The free breakfast was good.

The location might bother some people: it's right where Monterey Street joins Highway 101. The good news is, no through traffic past the hotel. The bad news might be the noise from the freeway; however, with the sliding door closed, you don't hear it. And, since it's on Monterey Street, there's an easy walk to downtown SLO and all the attractions there.

In sum, La Cuesta is visually appealing; the overall landscaping, including the metal sculptures and water sculptures offer a luxurious touch. The grounds are superbly maintained, as is the building itself.

It's not just a good deal for the money, it's a really good deal. It's comfortable, restful, and just a joy to stay in.

Room Tip: Talk with the desk people about your preferences; our room was superb for view and comfort. They wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
John,
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We're glad to know you enjoyed La Cuesta Inn. Satisfaction much like yours is what we strive to achieve every time here, and we really hope to see you back again soon. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,
Andrew A. Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We decided to go to San Luis Obispo on the spur of the moment and picked La Cuesta because it was available and had good reviews from Trip Advisor. Let us add our own. The motel is right off Hwy. 101, the first exit heading south. Despite this location, our room was quiet, with a comfortable bed, desk, armchair, two sinks and enough space for two people to get around easily. The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was the usual motel fare but well done. We had waffles one morning and bagels the next. The staff were unfailingly helpful and gave good advice about where to eat, including the locally famous Apple Tree Restaurant, just across the street. It is necessary to drive to see almost everything, but that seems to be the case for just about all hosteleries in S.L.O. We got an excellent price, including a AAA discount, so you'll hear no complaints from us.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, so it may be that some rooms face the freeway and are to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFabula, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Runans,
Thank you so much for your positive review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found such value in what we have to offer. It is always a pleasure to serve our guests and make sure that they get the most out of their stay in San Luis Obispo. We look forward to your next stay, and thank you again!

Sincerely,

Andrew Fabula
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuesta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.