We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lexington Inn to your Saves list
Lexington Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

When we pulled up to the hotel our spirits dropped a bit as it looked like another plain hotel on motel alley (I think it was a Days Inn at one point), but it turned out better than expected. Our room was very large and the bed provided a good night's sleep. Bathroom was clean, but needs a bit of a renovation job as it was plain. Room had a fridge, microwave and coffee machine, but no safe. There was also a flat screen TV, desk with chair, large closest with ironing board. The room was clean, but not upgraded, so I cannot complain. Free wi-fi. Laundry facilities on several floors ($1.50 to buy soap). There is also a BBQ on the premises if you want to pick up something and cook it yourself. Did not partake in the breakfast as there are so many funky cafes in San Luis Obispo that it would be a shame not to try one or two of them! Fitness room is sparse, so walk into town as your form of exercise! It's about a 15' walk into town but it is pleasant. While it's not the Savoy in Georgetown, DC, it was clean and service desk was always willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    46
    14
    20
See reviews for
52
59
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night, as part of a "road trip" in California. The accommodations are basic and clean. The air conditioning was not the greatest and very noisy. Though I didn't use the pool, it appeared to be clean and refreshing and nicely landscaped. It is a reasonably priced hotel (for California) for a decent 1 night stay while traveling 101 in CA.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool could be a little noisy if there is a late group by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Lexington Inn is located a bit of a walk from town but is very doable, it was a clean spacious room, small walk in closet!, lots of cupboards, very friendly staff, good parking out side or in carport. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The room is great, the location is fine, on motel row on the edge of town. Coffee pot, microwave, refrigerator in the room.

However: The television reception is ridiculous. Only one or two stations come in clearly. CNN is almost completely snow. When I complained, they said, yeah, that's the way it is. They said that they need to get a new provider. This is inexcusable. Why have big, flat screen TVs and no reception? I haven't seen this bad of reception since the pre-cable days. They have nice amenities, like an iron and ironing board. But which are you likely to use more, an iron or a TV? And if you have, say, kids, and really want to be able to use the TV – this is definitely not the place for you.

Wi-Fi is not actually free. The "free" Wi-Fi is so slow that I could not post this review from there. For normal Wi-Fi, you have to pay an extra $10 a night.

My room smelled so strongly that I had to leave the door open for a while to clear it out. It smelled like someone had gone overboard with either cleaning supplies or air freshener. It was a pleasant smell, but way, way too strong, especially in the bathroom.

Also, do check the rates online. I walked in, having checked the rates, and they wanted to charge me considerably more, and seemed not to believe me when I told them what their own website showed. I had to get them to look at their own website to see what rates they were advertising.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Only 15 minutes walk from town centre makes the Lexington a very convenient yet affordable choice of accommodation in SLO. The hotel rooms are surprisingly comfortable - nicely furnished with a big flat screen TV and neat bathroom. A simple continental breakfast was provided as part of the price. Would recommend for travellers on a medium budget or those looking for good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've now stayed at the Lexington Inn two separate times. The main thing to realize before staying here is that it is the only 3 star hotel in SLO that has reasonable prices at a short notice. That is really what keeps me coming back here. There is also a pretty convenient tram that picks you up and takes you to downtown. The main drawbacks that I have noticed are the noise levels from other occupants. The rooms are not amazing and could use better lighting, but they are very clean and the beds are pretty comfortable. Based solely on price I would stay there again, there is really not a better option for an affordable hotel in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

After our trip to Mexico, staying at Rosarito Beach Hotel, we were kind of worried of what we would find at the Lexington Inn. Will say we were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, nice atmosphere, great patio. Quiet and relaxing. Love the place. Would definitely stay here again if ever in San Luis Obispo. Great Hotel and Affordable.

Room Tip: All around nice place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lexington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn

Address: 2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Recreational amenities at Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo include a spa tub and a seasonal outdoor pool. Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo also offers wireless Internet access, high-speed Internet access. The property has a 24-hour front desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lexington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.