We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate but needs new beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lexington Inn to your Saves list
Lexington Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
West Sedona, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“adequate but needs new beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As there was a Willie Nelson concert in town, everything was sold out. This was economical, and you can tellf they have taken care to keep it clean & up to date. However, the bed killed our backs. I had a massage between the two nights, so I could face night #2!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    57
    42
    13
    19
See reviews for
44
56
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lomita, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple days for a destination wedding we were attending. The inn is a great value. The rooms are currently under refurbishment so some things are a bit off. Our room was very spacious. New carpet. New molding. New tile in shower. The walls are still original and need to be retextured. The edges have some dings from luggage no doubt that needs to be looked at. The bed was very comfortable (probably the most important thing). The sink and counter need to be replaced. The fixtures are very worn down to the brass. The toilet needs to be replaced also. I assume all of these are in progress since new tile was done. Also our room had a old tube tv that could barely be seen. Our friends arrived for one night and none of the refurbishments were done except a new very small for room flat screen and a fridge with microwave. Either way ammenities were good. Beds very comfy. Breakfast was good. Overall great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with everything at the Lexington Inn. Wonderful, kind front desk, good location, nice room and clean pool. Morning breakfast was available and enjoyed the fitness room. We will be back for sure:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Anyway, upon carrying my luggage up the stairs to the room, I found it quite hot & stuffy. I also found toilet paper in the toilet??? I attempted to turn on the air conditioner but the fuse tripped every time I pressed on. I was so tired I decided to open the window and see if that would cool the room. This was not a safe option as anyone could push the large screen in and enter the room from the walkway. However, in my exhaustion I fell asleep (with my clothes still on).

In the morning I noticed about five black swirls on the mirror in the bathroom. Then, I noticed black marks on the floor. I swiped these with a wet kleenex and they came up. The floor was simply uncleaned.

Upon exiting the bathroom I then noticed blood marks near the door jamb.

Then, upon exiting the room, I saw more blood marks at the exit door handle. YUCK!

Clearly this room had not been cleaned since the prior occupant. The mirror simply needs to be replaced as it is laminated in several places - a very inexpensive maintenance item.

I have never in my life been provided a room in such disgusting condition.

I told the receptionist and she seemed genuinely disgusted but said there was noting she could do and to please contact you when I got home.

To top all this off, I just received my mastercard bill and was charged double for the room - even after I addressed this issue at check in!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am originally from SLO and my family still lives in the area. We frequently travel from southern Cal to northern cal and we love to travel along the Hwy 1 via Big Sur to visit family. This quaint but stylish place is located in the perfect middle stopping point, enabling us to rest and refresh before travelling on albeit toward the north or on our journey back homeward bound in the south of Cali. The service here is always excellent and all the personnel are very genuinely courteous especially Depech the front desk clerk who happened to check us in for the 4th of July trip we recently spent there, she was above and beyond the normal level of service not only to us but to other guests as we observed her going the extra mile and giving guests access to boiled water for their baby's needs and escorting another guest in need of security on a late night walk back to their room. All said and done this hotel is clean, large and offers the consistent amenities we travelers are accustomed to in this modern day. We recommend you give the place a stay, you will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We frequently travel to San Luis Obispo to visit family. Due to other hotels being completely sold out, we tried the Lexington Inn for the first time. The room was clean, with the window closed the room was quiet, with the window open we could hear the nearby highway, bed was very comfortable, elevator was a nice plus, desk clerks were very friendly and parking was limited. Breakfast was pretty basic ... however, everything was fresh (coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, milk, water, cereal, english muffins, rolls and plenty of fresh fruit). We an upgraded "non-smoking executive suite room" based on the Lexington web site photo showing a suite with a separate bedroom. We were surprised and disappointed when we walked into one large room (not a suite) that had a desk, refrigerator, love seat and microwave. When we discussed the "suite" with the front desk, we were told that there is quite a variety of room configurations and it would be best in the future to call the hotel directly for reservations in order to book specific rooms. Bottom line ... we slept well and will most likely stay at the Lexington Inn again in the future, but we will book via telephone instead of internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was large and clean. The furnishings and fixtures are a bit outdated but they are renovating the hotel so these may be updated. The bathroom was clean, the carpet seemed brand new. The bedding seemed new as well. The staff was very friendly, and the location was good. My only complaints were the lack of parking - my husband and I arrived very late and lucked out to find an empty parking space. There are 75 rooms and only about 50 spaces. My other complaint was the noise - not from other rooms, I only heard my neighbors once. it was the traffic noise that I couldn't believe. They may want to consider new, sound proof windows. I would definitely stay here again if I visit SLO in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lexington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn

Address: 2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Recreational amenities at Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo include a spa tub and a seasonal outdoor pool. Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo also offers wireless Internet access, high-speed Internet access. The property has a 24-hour front desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lexington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.