We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great middle-of-the-line hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lexington Inn to your Saves list
Lexington Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great middle-of-the-line hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For $90/night, the Lexington Inn provided a clean room with a very comfortable bed (with white duvet comforters -- none of that curtain-y bed cover that never gets washed). The paint job gave the room a nice feel. Staff was very friendly and cheerful and accommodated our last minute booking very kindly. Breakfast was decent for an American continental breakfast; there were muffins and danishes (albeit store bought and a little unappetizing), juices, cereals, oatmeal, fruit, English muffins, etc.

We do have a few complaints: the shower pressure was weak, the faucet leaked a little, the in-room coffee tasted like paper, the AC is VERY loud (but it works!), and the TV was not a flat screen (we didn't watch the TV but it gave an old feel to the room). Also, I think we got the smallest room in the complex so it wasn't particularly spacious but it was comfortable enough for two people. Despite these complaints, I would probably stay here again because our other choices are crappy motels for less than $60 or spending over $100 for a nicer hotel.

Location is great if you have a car, as it is right next to the freeway and easy driving distance to downtown San Luis Obispo and surrounds. However, there isn't much within walking distance of the hotel except other hotels and motels.

Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel to travelers who don't want to stay in a cheap motel but don't want to spend over $100 for a solid room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    57
    42
    13
    19
See reviews for
44
56
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Not being familiar with the Lexington Brand my husband and I didn't really know what to expect. I'm really finicky about hotel cleanliness and the bedding. I was pleased by the overall appearance of the property, i.e. pretty landscaping and nice pool area, and we even had a private patio area with 2 loungers in a little alcove off our patio door! I was surprised by how large the room was, and the linens used on the bed - these were the type of linens you would see in a 4 or 5 star hotel (high thread count, duvet covers and super soft sheets.) I'd go back simply for the bed - it was that comfy!
The hotel is very convenient to town and the staff were very helpful in suggesting things to do and places to eat.
Breakfast is included and my husband brought back some nice tea and scones to the room.

I would definitely stay here again - especially in comparison to the other properties in the area and their pricing. Don't underestimate the Lexington - it was a great stay for a moderately priced hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice stay, nothing fancy but it wasn't dated. Best part is that it was very clean. Bed was too soft for me but the rest of my family was happy. Great location for visiting my daughter at CalPoly. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling from San Francisco to Los Angeles and we made a stop to sleep in San Luis Obispo. We choose this hotel due to we like the room and the price was correct. Room was very nice and it was connected via a terrace with our friend's room. Complete breakfast but with no place to take it, you should go to your room or take it in the lobby sofa.
Overall is a great hotel for a night during travel. It has also free internet wireless access in all rooms.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were there with a group of people, so I got to see a variety of rooms. Ours was a third floor queen with a small kitchenette, but other friends had a ground floor rooms that were noisy and cramped. I'd definitely ask for something on the 2nd or 3rd floor, and in the annex building (I think these are newer rooms; you have to walk through small parking lot to get to it).

Staff was friendly; we had to switch rooms because our TV didn't work, and they were efficient about that. The room itself felt a bit dated, but it was clean. Internet was spotty, which wasn't great for business travel. The hotel is located next to a busy intersection, so there is road noise. It's within walking distance of some good restaurants, but it's too far to walk downtown.

We got a good deal on our rooms, so it was worth it. If prices approach what other hotels are asking, I'd probably go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor room in annex building. Do not get a ground floor room in main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I asked for a quiet room when we checked in and were put on the 3rd floor. The lady in the front office was nice and accommodating. She gave us a quiet and scenic room. The room was spacious with 2 comfortable queen size beds. It contained a small refrigerator and microwave, desk with chair and small table with 2 chairs with plenty of room to spare. The internet was slow at times but dependable. The vanity sink was outside the bathroom, which was convenient, but was old and patched. The TV was an older model with a less than clear picture. It was great to spend a quiet night here and move on with our trip. If our room was more updated, I would have given it another star. As it was, it was comfortable and basic.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk what you want. They were very accommodating. Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here on our way back to San Diego from San Francisco. While the room was big, the bathroom was tiny! We were in a back building that looked like it used to be apartment complexes, and the decor looked like it was from the 80's. There was also all this spare furniture in there, like an old computer desk, which was weird. But it was quiet, clean, and close to the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lexington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn

Address: 2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Recreational amenities at Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo include a spa tub and a seasonal outdoor pool. Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo also offers wireless Internet access, high-speed Internet access. The property has a 24-hour front desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lexington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.