We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lexington Inn to your Saves list
Lexington Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped here on our drive up the coast from LA to SF. The price was right ($80/night) and I guess we got what we paid for- the room looked clean but felt less so. The room's terrace was connected to another room, which made us a little uncomfortable. The shower water was lukewarm at best. I think it was move-in weekend for Cal Poly students so perhaps they were busier than normal? Overall, just okay, but we spent about the same amount of money on hotel rooms in other cities on the coast, and they were nicer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    56
    41
    12
    19
See reviews for
42
56
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Location to Cal Poly can't be beat, but will give it one more chance before putting this on my don't-stay list. Reasons include poor shades that kept the room too bright when trying to sleep, noise from the parking lot and neighbors (cars and people were fine, but the place has thin walls), musty smell in the room ... it's obvious the place was a Days Inn before, meaning just above Motel 6 quality. TripAdvisor said rooms have flat screens, but not the two rooms we got.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I won't bore you with a long story as most of the other posts coverd everything. Take note some rooms do not have a fridge and microwave as I discovered. Room was your basic room looked clean. Bathroom is on the small side and dated just like the room.
The hotel is not within walking distance of downtown but you take the trolley... Stop is right across the street if you do t wish to drive or indulge in adult beverages.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Firstly, let me say that overall this motel is great. The room was clean and pleasant, and the motel provided exactly what we needed for a stop between LA and SF. We stayed one night only. However, we used the pool and discovered AFTER swimming that the strange pooey smell was actually poo, stuck on the side of the pool at water level. Let's just say I had a long shower after that. I can't let that get in the way of a generally nice time though. And the pool was lovely. Especially the poo-less hot tub.

If you book through booking.com make sure you take note of if you've paid or not. We thought we had and got a nasty surprise at check in.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Staff is very nice ( lady working there on July 26 a bit before 7pm was super friendly and professionnal), hotel is great for the price ! No surprise cost, we paid exactly what we expected ! (which is nice ! ) Not super fancy but very clean room and bathroom, pretty good size and big comfy bed ! Just what you need after a day on the road ! We didn't get enough time to go to the pool but it is very cute ! I would definitely go back again !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We normally stay at another hotel but this was half the price. The staff was very helpful and
the breakfast was just fine for a quick start. The room was clean and it was nice to have a
mini kitchen with microwave. This is not a glamorous motel but it certainly was worth paying
the same for 2 nights as I would have paid for one. Call direct to book and tell them you have
a Cal Poly student.

Room Tip: The back rooms are larger but they are closer to the freeway. Did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a one night stop over at the Lexington on our way back to Vegas. I was a little apprehensive about staying in a motel rather than a hotel but have to say was pleasantly surprised at the comfort and cleanliness of the Lexington Inn. Plenty of parking,check in was a breeze and our two double bedded room on the third floor was more than adequate for our one night stay. It was clean,quiet, the beds were very comfy, the bathroom was loaded with clean towels, there were coffee making facities and even a fridge. We had the pool and hot tub to ourselves and were even given pool towels. The complimentary breakfast the following mornng was exceptional, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, oatmeal, cereals, tea, coffee, fruit tea and juice what more can you ask for. We drove into the centre of San Luis Obispo parking was easy by the mission and what we saw of the town looked very nice, plenty of shops and restaurants. We tried Luna Red a spanish tapas restaurant which had indoor and outdoor seating. The food was excellent, very tasty and there was plenty of it. What I thought was going to a tough night turned out to be a really good night. We would definitely recommend the Lexington Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lexington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn

Address: 2050 Garfield Street, Garfield & Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lexington Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Recreational amenities at Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo include a spa tub and a seasonal outdoor pool. Lexington Inn San Luis Obispo also offers wireless Internet access, high-speed Internet access. The property has a 24-hour front desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lexington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.