We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Avenue Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Avenue Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very Clean and spacious bedrooms, including the bathroom. The mattress is comfortable. It is very good located, couple blocks from downtown, easy access from I-101. The staff is friendly and open. I totally choose this place again if I drop by San Luis Obispo, as the city is also very nice

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    72
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
87
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three of us stayed at the motel (wife and 16 year old son) for two nights. We choose this place based on the high ratings in TripAdvisor, so we were very disappointed. In our opinion, the high ratings are not warranted. This place reminded me of a Motel 6. Two double beds in a tiny room and small bathroom. Poor lighting in room. Very little space in room for luggage without tripping over it. Huge walk in closet, but no lighting in closet so we couldn't see very well.
On the positive side, it had a good location, the bed was comfortable (for a double bed) and room was clean and seemed to be newly remodeled.

Room Tip: For quiet room, don't stay on ground floor. We could always hear people talking as they walked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really loved this place. The decor was well thought out, the bathroom was perfect and it was so clean, clean, clean. We were pleased with the breakfast that was included. We will certainly return on a future trip.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking on site. Room is remodeled and very clean. Walls are thin so hearing your neighbor may interrupt a light sleeper. Location is great for a walk downtown and to local shopping and restaurants. Close to the airport and to access to the freeway towards Pismo Beach.

Room Tip: Lighting is dark in the sink area for applying makeup
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one night. it is a simple Inn, but the room was remodeled, new furniture, paint and bathroom. the shower head was great as it was a large, rain style shower head. Continental breakfast was a good start for the day. Good place for an in and out type of trip.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were greeted by very friendly staff and given a great room. The rooms were recently renovated and very clean; they even smelled clean. We had one of the best rooms and the guy at the desk told us that he'd put his parents in that room if they were there. If you want a room that's right in the midst of the action this is a great location. It is quiet even though it it is right on Marsh Street.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I brought ear plugs because I had read here that this place might be noisy, but even though it was an active Friday night I didn't need them. I couldn't hear any footsteps from above, even though I saw that that room was occupied, nor any noise from the breakfast room which was right next to me, and occasional revelers outside weren't bothersomely loud. Room (downstairs) was small but done quite attractively (and with well curtained windows!). If I needed a basic place to stay in SLO again I'd definitely consider this place again, although I might opt for someplace in a less expensive town or someplace "fancier," depending on the purpose of the trip.

Room Tip: I didn't notice that I could hear any footsteps from above, even though I saw that that room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travelodge
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.