We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, but find out if there are events when you book” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very central, but find out if there are events when you book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location, right off highway and a few blocks from stores and restaurants. Clean and comfortable room, with nice beds, fridge and microwave, decent bathroom. Have to say I was put off though by the desk staff's comments that it is a "party hotel" that locals come to on weekends to party in SLO. We were there on St. Patrick's Day and were assured several times that our room was far from the partiers. As it turned out everything was fine - all was quiet and we had no problems. Just make sure you ask for a quiet room if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
73
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were visiting family in San Luis Obispo and needed a place to rest our heads. We have tried several hotels nearby and have not found the cleanliness and comfort and ease on and off the freeway as this hotel. A minimal breakfast is provided. We will use this hotel the next time we are visiting our family.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room is very clean and comfortable! Very easy to find the hotel.
The staff of hotel were very nice and friendly. Mr. Taylor helped to find my shoes missed in the hotel and mailed to me immediately.
Thanks so much!
It's a very nice hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a great place for me to stay, right off the highway and not far from the meeting I was coming to town for. Easy walk to lots of wonderful restaurants. Clean with friendly staff. Would have liked some protein at the Breakfast Bar and the choices weren't fabulous but it was okay. Would have liked a blow dryer in the room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were driving from Los Angeles to San Francisco, and we made an overnight stop at this hotel. It was convinient located close to the farmers market that night. We actually walked to the action 10 blocks away. Clean, quiet, comfortable, not so good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just spent one night here as part of a longer trip and it was one of the best places we stayed. Nicely (and I think newly) decorated room with a big, comfy bed and an amazing shower. Better than a lot of hotels I've stayed in but with the low motel price. They also have a free breakfast available, which as well as the usual coffee and pastries, also had cereal, a waffle maker and toast.
Location is great as you can walk into town rather than having to drive, and we found the man on reception to be really friendly and helpful with suggesting where to go.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very nice inside and out. The rooms are beautifully remodeled with great modern décor. Very clean and everything in the room was brand new. Free breakfast and free wifi is always a plus.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.