We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
1 review
“Clean, convenient and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel ticked the most important boxes you look for when trying to find accommodation. The room was a generous size. It was comfortable furnishings and clean! Location was great, so close to walk in to town and felt safe. The continental breakfast was fine and there was laundry facilities available also. The manager was friendly and pleasant. WIFI was good access. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
61
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A great spot for a great price! The hotel is located in a great spot, only half a mile from the Mission and other great downtown hot-spots. Checking in and out of the hotel was an easy process, as was finding out room. The rooms impressed me the most, as they look to have been recently renovated! The bed was comfy, the restroom was roomy, and the TV channel selection was great. There was a little knocking around in the pipes during the night, but nothing too bad.

My only disappointment with this hotel was its continental breakfast... don't stay here if you're counting on a big hearty breakfast to start your day. The selection was minimal and unsatisfying, and we ended up going out to breakfast instead.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sol, The proprietor, was most accommodating. The place was clean, quiet and conveniently located near the downtown. Would recommend this to anyone. Sol let us check in early The days we stayed there and didn't seem to be put out by it whatsoever. There were no bedbugs to worry about either! Just a great stay with no worries.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to the freeway exit and within walking distance of the attractive town of San Luis Obispo, this motel is a good option for a comfortable short stay. The rooms and beds are comfortable and the self-service breakfast is quite adequate.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the Ave Inn and was pleasantly surprised. The room was recently renovated and extremely clean. I was in town for a concert at the SLO Brew Co., which is a short half mile walk from the Inn. The inn was centrally located and customer service by front desk staff was excellent. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The inn overall was quiet, but I always prefer a room on the top level. Only two floors at this inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic overnight stay at the Avenue Inn. They had one room left which we happily snatched up and the room was clean with a very comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful - when we turned on the TV we discovered it had been damaged; I told them about it and we had a replacement TV within 5 minutes. The location is perfect, just a short walk from downtown SLO. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here several times in the last 6 months. Location is great as you get to walk easily to downtown SLO. Hotel seems recently renovated and beddings appear new. However my latest stay was not as pleasant. The check in was rather unfriendly and unwelcoming. Worst of all was finding a large open packet of half eaten snacks in the bedside drawer left behind by the previous occupant. This immediately gave me a sense that the room is not clean and it negatively affected my comfort throughout my stay.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.