We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Hannut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Close to the freeway exit and within walking distance of the attractive town of San Luis Obispo, this motel is a good option for a comfortable short stay. The rooms and beds are comfortable and the self-service breakfast is quite adequate.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    42
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
59
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Ave Inn and was pleasantly surprised. The room was recently renovated and extremely clean. I was in town for a concert at the SLO Brew Co., which is a short half mile walk from the Inn. The inn was centrally located and customer service by front desk staff was excellent. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The inn overall was quiet, but I always prefer a room on the top level. Only two floors at this inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic overnight stay at the Avenue Inn. They had one room left which we happily snatched up and the room was clean with a very comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful - when we turned on the TV we discovered it had been damaged; I told them about it and we had a replacement TV within 5 minutes. The location is perfect, just a short walk from downtown SLO. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here several times in the last 6 months. Location is great as you get to walk easily to downtown SLO. Hotel seems recently renovated and beddings appear new. However my latest stay was not as pleasant. The check in was rather unfriendly and unwelcoming. Worst of all was finding a large open packet of half eaten snacks in the bedside drawer left behind by the previous occupant. This immediately gave me a sense that the room is not clean and it negatively affected my comfort throughout my stay.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Avenue Inn on 2 separate occasions last Fall when I was in town for business. It's right off of the 101 and easy to find. The location is great as it's super close to downtown (you can easily walk there). I am usually hesitant to stay at a motel type lodging, but decided to give them a try. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I also liked that when I returned the second time they remembered me. The rooms are standard, nothing fancy but are nice and clean. You will get free wifi which is always a plus. Although I have yet to try it, they also have a free continental breakfast in the morning. I really have no complaints about this place and am going to book it again this month since I have to travel to SLO again for work.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean room, friendly staff, and an excellent location. There's a great mountain trail literally across the street, and the heart of downtown is three blocks away. Couldn't imagine a better place to stay in San Luis Obispo!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Avenue Inn is located in a very good spot. It's easy to find, right off Hwy. 101, and its walking distance to downtown! Downtown is full of restaurants, bars, shops, and breweries. The room is newly redone with quality beds and bedding. The room is very standard, but very clean and modern with a fridge and microwave. Perfect for one night or longer.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.