We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central and cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Clean, central and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let's face it, if you are road tripping Route 1 from SF to LA, you are going to need a couple of night-stops. After a fair amount of research I picked Avenue Inn Downtown in SLO and very glad I did.

Not only was it probably the most central hotel in SLO (couple of blocks to downtown) but also the cheapest (US$95 inc tax for 1 night - the cheapest of all our hotels). It's very comfortable and clean and actually very quiet at night considering it's just off a main road. Parking was very easy and also free. Oh yes, and the manager Sol was very helpful and gave us all the info we needed.

If you can you should try and stay in SLO on a Thursday night when the farmer's market is on and you can gouge on as much BBQ pork, ribs and beef as you can! It's a fun night to be out.

For the $$ you really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
25
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was great! Room was clean and modern and had everything we needed. Staff were really friendly and helpful, location was perfect for it's short distance from the freeway and a short stroll in to town. We were lucky enough to be in San Luis for the farmers market on a Thursday evening which was a highlight! Breakfast was adequate and the waffle maker was novel for us! Would highly recommend and definitely stay here again if we find ourselves passing!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in almost every SLO hotel and can say that the Avenue Inn was a great spot for 2 nights. The rooms were updated and clean with modern decor. The location is prime --- right near down town. Parking is free and the place has free breakfast (although I didn't have any).

This is a great bargain for SLO. Affordable, clean, and updated rooms in a great location... what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has all of the basic necessities. It doesn't have a pool, spa, or resort amenities, but the location is perfect if you want to park your car and walk downtown. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are newly renovated and the decor is nice. Highly recommended based on value and location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night as a very convenient and timely stop off between Monterey and LA. Excellent location just off the freeway, and on the doorstep of what appears to be a friendly and lively community in SLO.

Hotel manager was an accommodating and friendly host, with good local knowledge for a couple of recommendations.

The room was excellent. Freshly refurbished and decorated with a particularly pleasing shower room. Comfy bed, good set up of quick wifi and television. Breakfast was slightly above average motel quality with a usual lack of protein but the added bonus of a waffle maker.

We regretted not having another night to stay at this hotel and in SLO.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The manager, Sol Taylor was extremely friendly. We needed a wine opener and he gladly offered it to us. He was inviting and answered all the questions we had. The room was clean and the bathroom was very nice and new. We weren't expecting much because it was only a night stay, but we were definitely pleasantly surprised. The only complaint we had was breakfast, but none of the other hotels we looked into had any, so I guess it was better than nothing!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I needed to make a last-minute reservation and was very pleased with what I found! The hotel staff was extremely helpful, courteous, knowledgeable about the area and very accommodating in recommending places/activities. The rooms... Fresh, modern, extra-comfy, nicely furnished and VERY CLEAN. The free breakfast is an excellent perk, as well. The overall property was well kept, safe, in a great location -- steps away from downtown and near everything I could think of. I highly recommend staying at Avenue Inn!

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, it's very easy to get around. You won't feel stranded here -- S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.