We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Nice Rooms and Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Nice Rooms and Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed to make a last-minute reservation and was very pleased with what I found! The hotel staff was extremely helpful, courteous, knowledgeable about the area and very accommodating in recommending places/activities. The rooms... Fresh, modern, extra-comfy, nicely furnished and VERY CLEAN. The free breakfast is an excellent perk, as well. The overall property was well kept, safe, in a great location -- steps away from downtown and near everything I could think of. I highly recommend staying at Avenue Inn!

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, it's very easy to get around. You won't feel stranded here -- S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
21
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a short visit to SLO with our son and daughter in law. Both of our rooms were similar to 5 star hotels we've stayed at as far as cleanliness , comfort and style. I the cost was almost half of what other hotels in the area charge. We had a small issue with parking after arriving late from dinner but the owner came out and found us a place within minutes. Nice people. Don't even hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms were very clean and the bed was super comfortable. We really enjoyed the stay. The manager Sol Taylor was very friendly, helpful and informative. Perfect location. The rooms are actually nicer than the photos.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd stayed at this property years ago on business when it was part of a national chain and it was just okay. When I found it online recently, I was skeptical about the name change and loss of affiliation. But I was absolutely pleased with the changes. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, clean, and modernized. (The changes to the shower were especially cool!) Its location is perfect for walking downtown to visit shops and restaurants. The neighborhood is quiet and parking is plentiful. The only thing that I missed was having a clock radio in the room--I found that odd but not a big deal at all. I'll stay here every time I visit San Luis Obispo.

Room Tip: It's a classic "motel" style layout so I choose upstairs rooms to avoid headlights lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Motel was clean, quiet, and the staff was friendly. The location is what sets this motel apart from others. It is an easy walk to downtown SLO. There is a simple breakfast on site that we chose not to use, but if you have kids it would be enough to get their day started.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well located near the downtown San Luis Obispo, with restaurants around, the place looks a bit old and not that nice from the outside, but when you see the room, it is really nice and clean. It has a very comfortable bed, but the bathroom is quite small. Coffee maker in every room and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You wouldn't tell from the outside as it looks as any travel lodge in the country, but once in the rooms you find a very nice, modern, clean and comfortable environment. All the usual comforts but at unusually low prices and it's just a few blocks from downtown San Luis Obispo. Just perfect !

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.