We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, rooms, and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay, rooms, and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a great trip to SLO and fantastic stay at this hotel. The owner/manager provided great service throughout our stay. Very friendly staff too. Our two adjoining rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. The recent renovation was very well down. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very nice and beds were extremely comfortable. The location is awesome too! Short walk to all the great restaurants, pubs, and shops in downtown SLO. Only needed the car a few times during our long weekend visit. Given all the factors, this hotel is a step above many of the other options in the area. Will definitely be back and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
25
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I spent two nights at the Avenue Inn earlier this month. The accommodations are clean and modern being newly renovated. Sol, the proprietor, was more than gracious despite the fact that it was nearly midnight when I checked in. LOCATION and PRICE are the two major selling points for this property. Easy walk to downtown SLO and much more affordable than any of the local chain motels! Had no reason to use my car the entire time I was in town. Walking access to trailheads for Johnson Ranch/Cerro San Luis trails. Simple breakfast but just enough to get you started for the day. Looking forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altona, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed her for a few days on our way through. Rooms are a bit small but they have done a great job at upgrading and modern decor. The only thing that would have been nice is a small fridge.The staff were very helpful and professional. Good value for the money and great location within walking distance to downtown. The breakfast was a really nice addition!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel has been recently remodeled and is a great deal for the price! It is in downtown SLO and close to the freeway...great location. Staff very nice. I stayed there with two of my sons. Small continental breakfast was included and an easy way to start the day. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was neither an Inn nor was on an Avenue & it was on the outskirts of the downtown area.
We were there for 4th of July weekend. We paid a lot of money for the 2 days. This is a Motel.
Nothing special. The bed was very comfortable but it was not worth the money. Our room was on the 2nd floor of an outside walkup staircase. Kind of tough considering this was the first 2 days of our 14 day trip with lots of luggage.
The accommodations were very rudimentary but clean. If you don't mind a motel than this May be ok for you.
I expected so much more & was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place is a classic motel style set-up but has clearly been refurbished in recent past. The rooms are a good size and are all new and clean. Comfortable beds, efficient A/C and well equipped bathrooms. Breakfast is basic but a welcomed 'extra' when all you're really paying for is a room for the night.

Ideal for a stopover when driving the Pacific Coastal Highway as we were. We stayed on a Thursday night, which turned out perfect as that's when the town's weekly Farmer's Market is on, which sees one of the main streets downtown (10 min walk from the motel) closed to traffic and stalls set out along both sides with live music and BBQ stalls.

Super friendly staff, particularly ex-pat Brit' Sol Taylor who was very friendly and chatty on the desk! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had a business trip to the Central California coast and was unable to find lodging in one of my regular hotels, so I took a chance on Avenue Inn based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Well, I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. I was told it used to be a rather run-down Travel Lodge, but the new owners fixed it up. And fix it up they did. They didn't just put on a fresh coat of paint, but they put in new carpet, drapes, beds, linens, granite counter tops and so on. From the outside it looks like a well-kept motel, but inside it looks like a modern upscale room in a nice hotel. We kept the car parked all weekend and were able to walk a few blocks up the street to downtown San Luis Obispo for lots of great restaurants, shops and things to see. I would recommend Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Address: 345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown Hotel San Luis Obispo
Travel Lodge San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Travel Lodge
San Luis Obispo Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.