We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easy access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Easy access on and off freeway. Lovely pool area. Rooms very nice and clean. The staff was very attentive. Convenient handicap parking right in front of the front door. Will stay here again when in San Luis Obispo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    176
    64
    13
    5
See reviews for
141
135
18
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we made an unscheduled stop in San Luis Obispo and were extremely pleased with the Best Western! Its just a short drive to down town so touring was easy; they offered an afternoon "social" with free wine and appetizers (all were delicious); the breakfast crew did an outstanding job of keeping everything available for guest. The room we had was spacious and clean. Couldn't ask for more!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located and the room we had was spacious. That's the good news. The bad news is that the HVAC system in the hotel is faulty making it stuffy throughout. The cooling unit in our room was so loud that it made sleeping difficult. Also, at its lowest setting, it made the room frigid. HVAC malfunction is a serious problem in San Luis Obispo! Also, forget the included breakfast unless you like waffles, sweet rolls and other carbs. There may be some yogurt left but it will be the tiniest container you ever saw. Maybe there will be an HB egg, but you could bounce it on the floor. Head over to Louisa's on Higuera St for breakfast instead.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice accomodations and staff. Older hotel with updates. Nice courtyard around pool and rooms have balconies. Breakfast with waffles, breakfast sandwiches, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and coffee. Nice touch with late afternoon cheese, crackers and local wine and beer in lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first time staying in San Luis Obispo. We picked this Best Western because it allowed us to bring our pet. Not only were the staff very friendly ( offered wine and appetizers at 5:00) and helpful but the hotel itself has a small enclosed space for the pets to do their thing. But the best thing of all is the park next door. There is an off leash dog park walking distance from the hotel. Awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had such a great experience at the Best Western Beachside Inn located in Santa Barbara California that I changed my reservation for the following evening in San Luis Obispo. I am very happy with my decision to change my reservation to the Best Western in San Luis Obispo. They have an amazing friendly and helpful staff, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Because of my positive experience I will be sure to make Best Western my top choice when booking a hotel for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Gallen
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We enjoyed our stay there. Room was clean, spacey and comfortable.

The staff was with one exception very friendly and helpful!!

The few downsides: the key system and the internet did not work as should be expected!

Breakfast is not bad - but if you have to share an 30 people area with over 200 guest, then you prefer to escape to Starbucks over the road (150m)

The balcony light stays on all night! If you prefer fresh air vs AC then you have to deal with the bright light on the balcony that can ot be controlled by the guest. So either loud AC or bright room!

Over all a pleasant stay -just an effort away from excellence!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.