We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown SLO & 101” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Marina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to downtown SLO & 101”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice accomodations and staff. Older hotel with updates. Nice courtyard around pool and rooms have balconies. Breakfast with waffles, breakfast sandwiches, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and coffee. Nice touch with late afternoon cheese, crackers and local wine and beer in lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    215
    77
    16
    5
See reviews for
165
182
22
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first time staying in San Luis Obispo. We picked this Best Western because it allowed us to bring our pet. Not only were the staff very friendly ( offered wine and appetizers at 5:00) and helpful but the hotel itself has a small enclosed space for the pets to do their thing. But the best thing of all is the park next door. There is an off leash dog park walking distance from the hotel. Awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had such a great experience at the Best Western Beachside Inn located in Santa Barbara California that I changed my reservation for the following evening in San Luis Obispo. I am very happy with my decision to change my reservation to the Best Western in San Luis Obispo. They have an amazing friendly and helpful staff, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Because of my positive experience I will be sure to make Best Western my top choice when booking a hotel for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Gallen
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We enjoyed our stay there. Room was clean, spacey and comfortable.

The staff was with one exception very friendly and helpful!!

The few downsides: the key system and the internet did not work as should be expected!

Breakfast is not bad - but if you have to share an 30 people area with over 200 guest, then you prefer to escape to Starbucks over the road (150m)

The balcony light stays on all night! If you prefer fresh air vs AC then you have to deal with the bright light on the balcony that can ot be controlled by the guest. So either loud AC or bright room!

Over all a pleasant stay -just an effort away from excellence!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at the Royal Oak over fourth of July weekend and although the hotel was completely full, it was very quiet and peaceful. The "dog" section is secluded from the rest of the hotel and I never even saw the pool. I didnt care for the way it was set up, but if you don't want to run tin to any people while you are there, then this is the place for you. It's right across the street from a large shopping center with lot's of places to eat and there is an IHOP right next door. The area is nice and clean and felt safe. They have a small area for dogs to go potty that is just dirt it's fenced in and has bags for pick up. It wasn't fancy but met all my needs. I actually like the Best Western Plus in Arroyo Grande better, it's very cool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed wonderful room with our dog, even provided an extra sheet for us and our pet....friendly staff....didn't give it a top rating because the breakfast area was a mad house. Poorly set up counter where everyone was crowded together and it was hard to get the food and breakfast selection wasn't that good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is clean and neat and I am picky about the cleanliness of hotel rooms. Obviously, this is not a 5 star hotel but it is more than decent. Upper floors have a balcony with chairs to sit and relax outside. This balcony perk is nice because it opens the room up more. Nice stop-over hotel. It is close to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room towards the back if the noise of the street is going to disturb your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.