We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for an overnight stop over.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Alright for an overnight stop over.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The facilities are clean and tidy. The bed was not very comfortable, it was to hard for us.
We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and taking a break. Breakfast was a diabetics nightmare, no protein in sight, carbs, carbs, carbs and more carbs. IHOP gave us a 20% discount with our room key.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    166
    56
    11
    4
See reviews for
126
122
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed for three nights, November, 2013. We were warmly greeted by friendly reception staff and quickly settled into our spotless,decent size room. We asked for a balcony that got plenty of sunshine and although we overlooked the side of the building we certainly had the sun in the afternoon. Plenty of clean towels, complimentary toiletries, and huge flat screen T.V. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker too. Pool towels were available from reception. The pool area was just perfect, a little haven. The reception party offered two free glasses of wine or beer with nibbles Mon- Thurs. A continental breakfast was provided and you were able to help yourself. Coffee was available all day - a nice extra touch. Free wi-fi is something we come to expect these days and we were not disappointed. The location was very handy for the shopping centre across the Street. I really was happy with our hotel choice and dream of sitting by the pool again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, best view is overlooking the pool. Rooms are on two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is hard to find a decent room at a reasonable rate in SLO. This lucky find met both requirements and more. Rooms are large, clean, in good repair and comfortable. The pool and spa were sparkling blue and very nice. They are both outside and it was too cold to enjoy them during our stay. Comp wine/beer and cheese/crackers was avail from 5PM-7PM our first night. The breakfast was minimal with the exception of the make your own waffles. They were really good! We were there on Thurs-Fri, non holiday and no special events in town. I asked about booking in June for Cal Poly graduation and their rates were triple what we paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you don't want to drive straight from Los Angeles to San Francisco San Luis Obispo is a very good place to stop for a night.
The Best Western Royal Oak is a standard BW with big rooms, breakfast, swimming pool, etc.
The hotel is across the street from a mall where you can find an Applebee's
There is also a lake a few blocks from the hotel.
One very important advice, if you plan to take the CA-1 to San Francisco, fill the tank before leaving the city. There is only one gas station in the road and charges 6.00 per gallon !!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was first Best Western PLUS that I have stayed at and the difference was noticeable instantly. The staff on checkin were extremely efficient and friendly, we got vouchers for free wine and snacks between 5-7pm that night in the 'breakfast room', not sure how regular those events are held.

The separate accommodation block was excellent, all carpeted corridors and nice decor throughout. The room was a large twin, with drinks facilities, good wi-fi, fridge, desk and chairs, with a balcony too. The wash basin is separated from the toilet and bathroom which is convenient, good range of toiletries and towels too. Range of items for the free breakfast in the breakfast room across the large entrance hall from reception.

There's shopping centre across the road, but well back and no noise, filling station nearby, and restaurants of all varieties within walking distance.

An excellent hotel and location, certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We called last minute and were able to secure a room here in August. We were given a large King room, however, it had an adjoining door and we could hear the people “next door.” The TV was blaring and we called the front desk and they relocated to another room (be careful as they have smoking and non smoking rooms). We were also happy with included breakfast in the am.
They recommended a steak house across the street that was open late, it was very good. Over all I was impressed with the stay, it was quiet, clean and hassle free.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non smoking rooms. If you are noise senstive beware that many rooms are adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet area, close to shops and restaurants. The welcome was friendly and reception staff were helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and not too busy. Rooms were very well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was simple but more than adequate. Altogether a very nice place to stay in a nice town.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.