We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, dark and old room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small, dark and old room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Best Western has the best booking system online. The reason We selected them when we planned our trip across US.

Reception was also polite and professional, But this hotel didn't live up to our expectations.
The room was small and dark with wet spots on the carpet floor (dogs of previous guest?!!).
Too simplified breakfast was served in a very small room where people couldn't move around.
And price was just too high compared to what you get.
It is very unlikely that we will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room facing parking on 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    168
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
128
125
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

this hotel had everything to make the perfect stay. the rooms are laid out well and everything was current-new. bathroom had a fan and hairdryer. tv was flat screen and big. wi fi was free. breakfast was plentiful fast and free. roomy balcony. lots of shops across street-Dollar Tree, Ralph's, Forever 21, etc. would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: west side has balconies that catch the nite air-no running the ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Easy off the freeway. Stayed just one night with our small service dog. Was delighted to see the completely fenced-in, shaded, designated dog run where she could stretch her legs. Our check-in and check-out was very smooth and the staff very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortably decorated. Sheets were used to cover both sides of the duvets, which I always think is nicer in a hotel. We had asked for a "quiet room" and were upgraded to a pool view room. We could see all the way to the hills. The king-bed room was spacious and quiet--some bumping noises from the folks upstairs, but that is fairly normal in any motel/hotel. Loved sitting on the balcony watching families play in the pool and just breathing in the view. We went on a warm weekend, and the air conditioning worked well.

Down sides: The bathtub was small, the shower water a tiny bit unpredictable, and we did not see an elevator--though, we may have just missed it as we did not need it.

The free breakfast includes make-your-own waffles, breakfast sandwiches, hard-boiled eggs, bananas, pastries, juices, cereals, and coffee. The breakfast area appeared to be staffed with someone who kept the area clean and assisted if asked. Should you not like the breakfast at the motel, there is an IHOP right next door on one side, for lunch and dinner options, there is a Chinese restaurant on the other side. The motel is across the street from a shopping center with several other dining choices. Half-a-block down, there is a park. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms up on the hill are quieter. All rooms require a bit of walking to get to from the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel over memorial day weekend to attend their annual blues festival. Hotel was clean, nice room.

This hotel allows pets and the first night there a dog was left alone in a room into the late night hours and barked incessantly. When calling the front desk, they said there was nothing they could do about it. The barking lasted past 11 PM. Very frustrating.

Room Tip: be sure to check surrounding rooms when booking if they have pets in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights between driving pch from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Very warm welcome, room very comfortable overlooking pool area. Walked into slo nice walk about 2 miles.Farmers market on a Thursday great fun ,found good pub with entertainment Frog and Peach . MacDonalds across road for late night munchies.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly welcome from Chase on reception set the tone, which was followed by tokens for complimentary wine/beer and nibbles! The room was spacious and very clean with crisp bed linen. The only slight downside was the slightly lumpy pillow, but it didn't stop me falling asleep. Breakfast is included in the rate too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice king room, big flat screen, micro, not so big mini fridge, balcony. Good location near shopping area and restaurants. VERY expensive. Not sure why this is a PLUS hotel. I hate adjoining rooms, the sound insulation in the walls is useless when there is a door in between. I had to put headphones on to drown out the noise next door. During my entire stay there was a bus parking, loading, and unloading outside my balcony. Idling the whole time! Could not keep my window on the balcony open or enjoy the balcony at all during all this. They don't recycle.

Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the wing furthest to the left from the office. That's where the buses park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.