We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service at its finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Customer service at its finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great value...but the employees go above and beyond..dan, chase and carol were fantastic....knowledgeable about wineries..beaches and shopping...the happy hour was great..carol was the ultimate hostess...lots of cheese...crackers..and snacks...and wine or beer....I'd recommend this hotel ...and san luis obispo in general!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    190
    67
    14
    5
See reviews for
145
152
18
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Upon arriving the staff gave us information about the city the farmers market on thursday evenings is fun! Our room was very large and overlooked the pool, they have a patio area with two chairs so you can enjoy fresh air. Lots of choices to dine around the hotel plus a delivery service if you just want to relax after a long day. One of the workers brought us a cart for luggage and even got us ice. Oh did I mention an area for dogs that is enclosed with dog bags and a trash can for disposal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were just stopping over for one night on the way through but were a little disappointed with the hotel.

First the good points:
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel location was about 10 mins drive to the centre of San Luis Obispo. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

SLO was a nice town and we were lucky to be visiting when they had a farmer's market on.

So why only 3 out of 5?

The room we had was a bit tired and from the outside was the cross between a prison and a multi-storey car park. I understand that this is relatively normal for these style of hotel in California but I think we expected something a bit better. The view from the room was basically the roof of the main building, just to rub it in there was a balcony and chairs so we could soak up the "view" :-)

Finally the housekeeping was not spotless as there were some hairs in the bath and the room was a little shabby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great deal with breakfast included.
Bonus: wine with snack all on the house.
Staff friendly and knowledgeable.
Excellent location just off the freeway on Madonna Road.
Shopping available across the street in the mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel rocks!! I accidentally left a hi-end bike helmet on their premises and their employees not only found it, they put it it in the "lost and found". So, when i called the front desk, they had it. And they sent it to me. Saved me $300. Their staff is honest and honerable. And, their rooms? Good sized rooms, clean and quiet. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This motel is across the street from a nice commercial mall and just a few doors down from the kitchy but eye-catching Madonna Inn. It's one freeway exit from SLO's beautiful downtown and just a few miles from the CalPoly campus.

The front desk service was excellent, but there was a bit of a strange smell in the lobby which bothered me more than my wife and kids. Our room was comfortable for the four of us with real queen beds, not doubles being sold as queens.

We sprung for a pool view room, and we were placed on the second floor. This was fine after our first night when we got up and out early. However, after our second night, we hoped to sleep in. It was difficult because of the noise from the floor above. While the ceiling seemed fairly well insulated, there was an annoying and random "clicking" noise from the ceiling anytime the people above us walked around—the equivalent of squeaking floors. If you want to sleep in a bit, I'd suggest requesting a third floor room so you have no one above you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently stayed here while on a visit to tour Cal Poly. The hotel was located close to the college, but also close to many conveniences. There is a shopping center directly across the street that has restaurants, groceries and clothing. The hotel was clean. The rooms are on the small side. Our reservation came with an afternoon wine and cheese bar. However, apparently some reservations don't include it, so the attendant would turn those people away, which I found to be a bit on the side of poor service. They should give those other guest an option to be part of the wine and cheese service instead of just turning them away by saying "You don't qualify". Our reservation also included a hot breakfast. We didn't take advantage of this deal since the hot part of the breakfast was taking a prepackaged sausage sandwich (maybe even Jimmy Dean) and putting it in the microwave. Located next door is an IHOP that will give you 20% off if you show them your room key. We are not big IHOP fans but it was a step above a microwaved breakfast. They have a nice heated pool, but a ridiculously small hot tub (that was out of service while we were there). Overall, an acceptable place for one night.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for a pool view otherwise you will be facing a parking lot which would give the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.