We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, nice pool!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good rooms, nice pool!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms are quite spacious and very quiet. The hotel has a great feel and offers a nice relaxing space around the pool area. The pool is a good size and there is a smallish gym with some equipment.
Breakfast is a dreary affair, but at least they offer real plates and cutlery, though coffee is still served in paper cups. Typical American breakfast, with only starches and very limited choice of fruit.

Room Tip: One can park your car around the hotel and close to any room, so really all rooms should be convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    170
    60
    12
    4
See reviews for
135
130
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The property is pet friendly and located next to a nice park. It is also across the street from a grocery store and some chain restaurants. The hotel is no frills. They may have oversold a bit on the photo gallery. The room we were in is not as nice looking as the room represented in their photo gallery. When booking your room, be sure to request a room not located at the back of the property. My room was in the 400's, which could only be reached out by the back (out in the cold), up two flights of stairs and difficult to get to the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not require you to access it through the sides of the hotel or the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The very nice man at the front desk upgraded me to a king bed on the top floor with views of the nice pool area. I was so impressed with the quiet room,blackout curtains and comfortable bed. A lovely complimentary breakfast with make your own belgian waffles and complimentary newspapers. This hotel is pet friendly. Very clean,friendly and the employee's obviously take pride in their jobs!

Room Tip: Nice AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not a fabulous hotel, but it worked well for us and our kids. The pool and hot tub are great! The water in the pool was actually warm (a rarity in hotels, I've found), and there's a restroom right by the pool. The breakfast is OK (though they need a second waffle maker). I was disappointed that the hotel is not entirely non-smoking. There were people sitting on balconies around the pool smoking, which just seemed gross to me. That said, our room was billed as non-smoking and it was indeed clean and fresh, though not beautiful. The bed was VERY comfortable, with new soft linens. The hotel is right across the street from a nice shopping mall where they hold the Farmers Market on weekends, with lots of restaurants nearby too. It is just a bit out of town, but I've stayed right in town before, and I think the hotels there are more cramped and pricey (not that this hotel is cheap, but relatively speaking). It's a dog friendly hotel. Our room was at the back, near the dog walking area, so people were coming and going at all hours, but our room was very quiet. Actually, having the dog people go in and out made me feel more secure when I had to do emergency laundry late one night! (By the way, the desk clerk was very nice about exchanging a $5 bill for quarters.) If we go back to SLO, I would stay here again.

Oh, one funny thing: when I checked out, the woman ahead of me (holding a dog) complained to the desk clerk about the smell in the lobby. She said it smelled like terrible body odor. The desk clerk said something about a lot of Europeans staying there. When she was gone and it was my turn, I said "what smell?" and he said there's a smell in the lobby that apparently only some people can smell -- he can't smell it and I couldn't, but people regularly complain about it -- so he tells them this story about the Europeans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Large enough room, friendly staff. Good location. Breakfast was better than most places like this. Breakfast sandwiches, make your own waffles. Weekday wine and cheese hour. Rooms are cheery compared to that big famous place a few doors away.

Room Tip: Easy place to keep your pet! Room has some ventilation issues, it can get hot, even when it's c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staying here tonight. So far so good. Exceptionally great service, good value and pretty convinient. I will definitely be back, worth recommending to business travelers. The rooms are a pretty decent size and restaurants pretty close by. Good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.