We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay for Lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay for Lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stopped in San Luis Obispo for lodging on our way up from Santa Barbara. We had a next day tour at Hearst Castle which was approx. 1hr from the Hotel. This place was an excellent joice to lodge. It was clean, quiet and close to the Shopping Mall and Restaurants right across the street. We had 4 adults sharing 1 room for a 1 night stay. There was a complimentary breakfeast and pricing was very reasonable. I would definetly lodge here again and recommend this Hotel for anyone passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    166
    56
    11
    4
See reviews for
126
122
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Originally booked this hotel because it's dog-friendly. We ended up not bringing our pooch but it would have been good had she been with us. Fenced dog run available. We got a ground floor room as requested. Every room has a porch with chairs (we faced poolside). Room was good sized. Fairly quiet. (could hear a little bit of inner hall noise if people were out there) Fridge provided, but no microwave. (only a slight drawback) Didn't use the pool but the grounds were immaculate. Slept in too late to get the breakfast, which I never do, so I guess that's a good sign of a comfortable bed. Easy access to grocery and fast food across the street. Shower was quite good. (tall enough and good pressure) Overall, not exciting in any way but a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I and our two dogs stopped here on a road trip headed North from San Diego. We arrived late at night and appreciated that the hotel has a fenced dog run where we could let our dogs play for a few minutes. The breakfast was adequate, room was clean and spacious, and the staff was very friendly.

The only thing that would be nice is a grassy area for the dogs, since the ground was just dirt. We would definitely stay here again if in the area and in need of a dog-friendly property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My son serves at an annual Civil Air Patrol training camp that is often held at Camp San Luis Obispo. We stayed here with our large dog two years ago, just after they renovated the floor we stayed on. It was beautiful, friendly and allowed my pet. They had a nice dog walk for him.

We returned this year, and found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, but the hotel aging, with many minor annoyances. The young people at the front desk were responsive, but often lacked common sense. When I checked in, I was told I would have to call down to the lobby at 7 am on Sunday to get a late check out. The maid picks up a note on all rooms with late check out when she comes to work. Really????? I want a late check out so I can sleep in. Now I have to wake up so I can alert your maid because she doesn’t read he computer notes. You’re kidding, right? I asked again on Saturday and they assured me they would give us late checkout. Unfortunately, the maid did not get the word and woke us up early! ARRRRGH!

There was no channel guide in the room, and jumping to channel that wasn’t connected made a loud static noise. I asked at the front desk for a guide and was told I should use my computer to go to TV guide dot com. Really? You’re kidding, right. A more astute clerk gave me a copy of a hand written channel guide saying the local cable was a monopoly and keeps changing the line up without sending new cards.

The phone in my room was not connected and I had to call from the outside to get the password to the internet, which was painfully slow. The cable tv, was terrible, with channels missing and HBO unwatchable. I notified the front desk on Saturday, but neither problem was fixed. When I mentioned it again, they offered a discount. Okay, thanks for doing your best to make things right.

Overall, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were great and the back of the hotel is the place to stay if you want quiet. The breakfast is carbo loaded, but if you stay at the Embassy Suites down the road for a hot meal included, you will pay twice the price, have loud freeway noise and have to leave your dog at home.

When I decided to get my son his own room the one night he stayed here, they gave him the king sized room on the same floor at the price I was paying for a double. Thank you again! This means a lot to me, and despite the minor inconveniences, I will return.

Room Tip: Pick one in the back of the hotel and arrive before posted check-in. I had requested one of these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here one night with my two little kids. We arrived at 11pm after making a reservation on the phone en route, and check-in couldn't have been easier. The room was soo comfortable and sheets were soo soft, exceptionally clean and neat, we loved the balcony with totally kid-proof fence, the breakfast was substantial, customer service excellent, pool lovely. We will definitely be staying here again on our regular trips through the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Booked two rooms during the SLO grad weekend and wasn't expecting too much. We were pleasantly surprised by the property and service. Our rooms were clean and well appointed and were adjacent to the nice pool area. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if I return to the area...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one night in the back of the hotel where it was quiet in the evening and night and a bit of a hike from the lobby (which was fine by me- I need the exercise.) I was woken up in the morning by other guests in a unit nearby, along with the ice maker sounds as they prepared to leave, but I was happy to get up and get on the road.
Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was basic and average - as expected for the lower price of this BW Plus hotel. No hot items except for those like biscuit/egg that the guest heats up in the microwave themselves. Staff were quite helpful and very polite.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Upper level away from any equipment/ice machines, laundry, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.