We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, dog friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice, dog friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was our second time staying here and we enjoyed it just as much as the first. We chose this place because of some of the dog friendly reviews we saw and the hotel is very dog friendly. They even have a small, fenced dog run in the back of the hotel. The rooms were nice and clean, but not the most up to date. The staff is very nice. They offer a breakfast in the morning, but there aren't many low sugar/low carb items available. There was some fruit and yogurt. We had a nice stay and next time we're in the area we'll gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a dog stay in the back of the hotel. The rooms back there are walking distance to their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    250
    89
    17
    5
See reviews for
200
201
26
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel was nice, clean, updated, with good beds. Breakfast was ok, nothing special, though they did have real dishes & silver. The complimentary wine was very nice. The staff was exceptional.
We stayed 3 nights, but I had to ask for a new room after one night on the first floor. The noise from the room above us was so loud, I felt like I had roommates! Plumbing sounded like a freight train. We were moved upstairs, which was marginally quieter. The only other negative was the smell in the lobby; not sure if it was the cleaning products, but it sure had an unpleasant odor.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool cost more. Some outside rooms just face the building next door, others may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had a great stay here & would definitely stay again. The newly remodelled room had a fridge and an abundance of pillows. Pool & whirlpool were lovely, as was the fitness center. Free continental breakfast was pretty good - yogurt, fruit, cereal, waffles etc. Two miles from downtown San Luis Obispo; you could probably walk downtown if you wanted to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard/pool; nicer view and probably quieter than those facing the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We only spent one night here on our way north to San Francisco, but it was a great place for this purpose. Very clean, newly remodeled room. Breakfast was adequate. Architecture is a little cold, but the room comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised on the updates that has occurred at the Best Western Royal Oak. Very pet friendly and they even have a 15x30 fenced in pet relief area. The room was clean and hotel staff was very pleasant. If you are traveling with your dog this is the place to stay in SLO. Right next to Laguna Lake Park that has a dog park and plenty of hiking trails. The only down side would be the continental breakfast nothing to write home about. But overall would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. That way you don't have to hear the people above you walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is not for the budget traveller. We paid $170 ( $152 + taxes) for a room with a king-sized bed on a Saturday night. The receptionist told me that this hotel had been full every night from May to September this year so if you plan to stay here, reservations sound like they are a must. The 3rd floor room was the usual hotel room but it did have a small balcony overlooking the pool. The room was quiet and clean; the bed was very comfortable and we both had a good night's sleep. TV reception was good and there was a strong WiFi signal. The room also had the usual bar fridge and microwave. There are restaurants across the street (Applebee's; Tahoe Joes ) so you don't have to drive.

Other than the large bowl of fruit salad, the breakfast was quite basic: waffles, cold cereals, bagels, hard boiled eggs, toast etc. but, unlike another reviewer's experience, the plates and bowls were all glass and the cutlery was stainless silver. Not something you see very often but it was "Parents' Weekend" at the nearby college so perhaps the hotel was trying to make a good impression. There were no hot eggs and sausage or bacon as you get in some other Best Westerns and other hotels. My wife picked out an orange which she was amused to see had come from Chile; we must be early for fresh California oranges.

There is nothing glaringly wrong with this hotel; just be aware of the prices.

Room Tip: FYI, many rooms face the pool. Decline this 'upgrade' if you want to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Room had air con but may as well put the hair dryer on cool and waved that around. It just blew out air, wasn't cooled whatsoever. Pool needed a bit of a clean as debris in there. Washing facilities however which is useful on a road trip. On main road but quiet ish. We had a poor nights sleep due to the room being so hot. It's basic decor and bathroom are ok but I wouldn't stay more than one night here. I'm not a snob or used to 4 star hotels either we just wanted a good nights sleep which neither of us got.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#13 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#8 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel

Address: 214 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.