We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bed!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1951 Monterey Street, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing bed!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights on a business trip. We found the staff very nice and accommodating to our needs. It's a convenient location, close to the freeway. The room had everything that we needed. It is an older property and some of the fixtures could use updating. We were very comfortable here. The bed is one of the best and most comfy that we have ever slept on. It was quiet and when you are away on business that is something that we really appreciate. The breakfast was basic but good. We were very pleased with our stay and would stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your Positive feed back we are glad that you like our new pillow top beds and had enjoyable stay. We look forward to see you again and Thank you for sharing your experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    79
    83
    34
    18
See reviews for
88
75
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located for visits to Cal Poly and downtown San Luis Obispo. The room was nice and clean and the rate was good.
The service was nice and the staff friendly.
We enjoyed our visit and plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Manager and wife were not friendly at all. No smiles, no hospitality, and very abrupt. One expects to be greeted with a welcoming attitude, and these managers lacked that ability. I get the same attitude at 7/11, but didn't expect it at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1951monterey, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feed back and we apologies for your experience and will make sure that we have our team members get right coaching so that we have the happy guest giving us the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

For a motel, it exceeded my expectations! Clean rooms, friendly service when we checked in, and it was a nice area with quiet guests. The breakfast was good for being free, especially the waffle maker.
Since it is cheaper than the other hotels, we took it, and was happy.
The bed felt a little better than most motels (I've only been to 2 others). The bathroom was clean and there weren't anything lurking in the corners or holes in the walls (I hear scary stories about motels).
Definitely worth a one night stop during our road trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

ALMOST everything was perfect with our overnight stay at the Super 8 in San Luis Obispo except for the lay out of the room.

The room was divided into two VERY small sleeping areas (can't really call the "back room" a bedroom as it doesn't have a closet and has barely enough room to walk around the bed).

Everything was very nicely remodeled...right down to new granite countertops. Why they didn't just blow out the wall between the two rooms and make it a generous suite with a nice hide-a-bed is beyond me...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Address: 1951 Monterey Street, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Super Eight San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Super Eight
San Luis Obispo Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.