We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Super 8 San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1951 Monterey Street, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    62
    65
    26
    17
See reviews for
66
60
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Rooms appear to be recently renovated. Clean and quiet. Breakfast included (make your own waffles). Surrounded by more expensive motels. Blocks from downtown with many cafes and shops.
Very cooperative staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked this place about a week in advance for a half century bike ride in San Luis Obispo. It's located on Monterey st which is kinda like the main street to local eateries and toward downtown. We biked 1-1.5 mi south/west to downtown for the start of the ride. The hotel room is pretty clean and odor-free. Everything else is just like any other average motel you would expect. I would come back here again for the convenience and the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN MATEO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

WE occupied three rooms. All of us were very pleased with the motel in every way e.g.
the building was very clean, inside & out. The managers were most cooperative. Etc.
I would certainly return. I had never stayed in San Luis Obispo. Pleasant town, fine food, short drive to ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've stayed here on two occasions (including this one), this year. I stayed both times for business. I was greeted warmly each time I needed service at the front desk. The room was clean, and included a microwave and refrigerator. All equipment was in working order. They offer a continental breakfast, but I did not partake of it, so I can't review that. But the breakfast area was clean and stocked. I made a quick trip the the nearby Fresh & Easy Market for groceries and took advantage of the microwave and fridge. Plenty of restaurants and coffee nearby. This is my budget hotel of choice in SLO.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAHA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Basic motel room, but better than I expected. It was very clean, very fresh smelling. The towels were clean, as was the bathroom, which was great quality for a motel. The bedding and bed were comfortable
The TV has about 30 basic cable channels. There is a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker in the room and they allow pets, although I did not bring mine.
Breakfast buffet is small, but had enough options to satisfy myself and my 85 year old Mother, who is very particular about what she eats, however we made do nicely with some cereals, milk, muffins, coffee and juice.
All in all, a very good place for the money and VERY convenient to The Famous Splash Restaurant and Bakery (about 3-4 blocks), as well as getting on and off Hwy 101 (about 2 blocks), I would recommend it to anyone and would stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Luis Obispo

Address: 1951 Monterey Street, Hwy 101 exit Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Luis Obispo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Super Eight San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Super Eight
San Luis Obispo Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.