We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   950 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Awfull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We rent a room there last May 18th 2013. A little kid (about15) was doing the check-inn. They asked us 108$ for a room very dirty: soiled carpet we didn't want to walk bare feet on this. The sink faucet was loose we had to use our two hands to make it working. The skirt of the bed was discusting. The table and the chairs in the room were falling appart: we had to hold the table with one hand while eating. The breakfast was in a small area with only one table and the counter was all dirty: nobody clean up between customer. We just had this waffle mix and a bit of milk to put in an undrinkable coffee, no more bread and nobody there to give us some. The ''free'' Internet WiFi did not work in our room no115. Don't go there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    12
    11
    20
See reviews for
11
20
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The title sums it up. Lady at the front desk was very rude when we checked in. Got to the room, was nice. Still had a regular TV and not a flat screen. Shower would be hot, ice cold, scalding, ice cold, and back to hot. Our second day we left the room at 10:30am and came back at 3:30pm. Maid never showed during that time. Went down to the office..same lady came out and when I explained what had happened...she told me she'd get the maid to come to the room. She then proceeded to go into room off of the office. She slammed the door and I could hear her complaining loudly to whoever was back there. Maid finally came about an hour later. I just asked for towels and some toilet paper. Will probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed one night and couldn't wait to leave! TV reception on ABC & HBO channels was lousy, plus TV set must've been at least 10 or more years old. WiFi was horrible, only 1-2 bars most of the time. Pillows were paper thin and mattress was so-so. Heater only blew cool air and so was cold as heck in the morning. Microwave was old and had some kind of orange stuff on the viewing window. Management was unfriendly. Waffle iron was busted which left you with 2 types of cereal or piece of bread for breakfast. Other guests were noisy, had to listen to TV from one room and music from another. On the plus side, bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Lodge here at your own risk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abvi805, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Mr. Bruce J for your review, as a matter of fact we were expecting it because after using a room for few hours and comparing the rates of other area hotels you wanted to get a refund and upon not getting it so there comes all these problems and a review BUT you forget that before checking in you saw the room and you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed 11 nights on a business trip. Every night when I got back to my room the room service did a thorough job of keeping the room clean. And it always smelled great! I would recommend this motel to anyone who wants a no frills inexpensive place to stay and it has all the amenities that you would expect a more expensive motel would have.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the building might be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

this room was quiet, inexpensive, and clean. we parked right outside and were a quick drive away from the downtown area, but also right next to the highway south. there is a washer and dryer outside downstairs next to the ice machine, which is convenient if necessary

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I come here just for sleep, as I need to continue my trip. Motel is quite standard. Simple breakfast, coffee tea, a waffle maker and toast on the house.

Room are clean, but price are so different here compare to Palm Spring, I was in PS only a day ago, and price here is double, and totally different class, over there in PS clients are more sophisticated and classy, and here are all the transient and non-white collars. And the motel in PS is lot more classy. Maybe the location make a difference, in short price here for 1 nite is almost I can stay in Palm Spring for 2 nites.

If you are looking for relexation and enjoyment, don't come. But just overnite and go, that will be OK.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This place is so run down and in need of a total makeover. I was stuck and needed a place for the night. If I was traveling alone I would have slept in my car over this place. The first room was a smoker haven and the odor was horrible. i was moved and the next room was so old looking and was patched together poorly. Not recommend to stay here especially if you are with your family.

Room Tip: someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#24 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#21 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#25 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Toro Motel
El Toro Motel
#22 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 950 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo offers clean comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and free high-speed Internet access in our guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, clock radio, free local calls (restrictions apply), and wake-up service. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room. At Americas Best Value Inn San Luis Obispo, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
America`s Best Value Hotel San Luis Obispo
Econo Lodge San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.